Cover art for In Darkness, Look for Stars

In Darkness, Look for Stars

Summary

Paris, 1941: Going against her mother’s orders, spirited Maggie devotes herself to the Resistance. Her life is a whirlwind of forged passports and secret midnight runs, helping Jews escape. Much to her high-society mother’s disapproval, she has fallen in love with Emil, a Jewish Resistance fighter who is wanted by the Nazis.  The city is growing more dangerous by the day, with signs proclaiming "No Jews" posted everywhere in the mazelike streets and people dragged away in handcuffs. The forbidden lovers are forced to say good-bye - Emil going underground to escape capture.  Meanwhile, Maggie’s sister, Cecilia, is hundreds of miles away, where the realities of war are yet to hit the serenity of the South of France. Innocent and shy Cecilia is shocked to the core when Emil turns up, seeking refuge. Her sheltered life turned upside down, Cecilia is thrown into the world of the Resistance, all the while sending coded letters to her sister, who every day awaits news of her fiancé.  But with the Nazis closing in on them, their lives soon hang in the balance. Both sisters must decide where their loyalties lie - and how far they are willing to go to save themselves and one another.  An evocative, riveting, and stirring tale about the tragic realities of war, the fine line between loyalty and lies, and the power of love, even in the darkest of times. Fans of The Nightingale, The Letter, and All the Light We Cannot See will be spellbound by this magnificent historical novel.

©2020 Clara Benson (P)2020 Bookouture

Length: 13 hrs and 29 mins
Available on Audible