Cover art for Shield-Maiden: Under the Howling Moon

Shield-Maiden: Under the Howling Moon

Summary

Chosen by Odin. Destined for Valhalla. In my dreams, Odin whispers to me. He tells me I'm destined to wield a legendary sword. He tells me my road will bring me to Valhalla. But when I wake, I'm only Hervor. Fatherless. Unloved. Unwanted. Jarl Bjartmar, my grandfather, calls me cursed. My mother, her memories stolen by the gods, has forgotten me. Everyone tells me I should have been left to the wolves, but no one will tell me why. None but Eydis, a thrall with völva magic, believes I'm meant for a greater destiny. Yet who can believe a devotee of Loki? When the king and his son arrive for the holy blót, the runes begin to fall in my favor. A way forward may lie in the handsome Viking set on winning my heart, but only if I unravel the mystery hanging over me first. Fans of Vikings, The Last Kingdom, and The Mists of Avalon will relish Shield-Maiden: Under the Howling Moon. This sweeping Viking Historical Fantasy retells the Norse Hervarar Saga, depicting the life of the shieldmaiden Hervor, the inspiration for J. R. R. Tolkien's Éowyn.

©2020 Clockpunk Press (P)2020 Clockpunk Press

Narrator: Lesley Parkin
Length: 7 hrs and 21 mins
Available on Audible