Cover art for Where the Waters Turn Black

Where the Waters Turn Black


Contains two standalone books from Benedict Patrick’s Yarnsworld series. Series can be listened to in any order. Where the Waters Turn Black, book two What lurks beneath the waves? The Crescent Atoll is a remote string of tropical islands, connected by long canoe journeys and a love of stories. Islanders live in constant contact with gods and monsters, following the rules handed down by their storytellers to survive in harmony with these primal forces. However, when a young ocarina player called Kaimana discovers the lair of a taniwha - a legendary monster - she attracts the ruining gaze of the god of war. In a land of sea witches, pig-faced gods, and Magpie Kings, Kaimana must trust her growing friendship with her taniwha if they are both to survive. Inspired by the myths and legends of South Pacific island cultures, this book is perfect for those seeking a fantasy adventure in an unfamiliar world. To Dream and Die as a Taniwha Girl, book five There is a price to pay for becoming a story. Kaimana has defied the gods and won the freedom to spend the rest of her days travelling the collection of tropical islands she calls home. But the people of the islands have taken notice of her. They have started to tell her story; for many children, one of their favourite fireside tales is now that of the Taniwha Girl, the brave woman who befriends monsters. Some islanders even pray to her. The gods are displeased, but they are not the only ones paying attention to Kaimana’s rise to fame. On the borders of the island ring, an ancient demon - an old enemy of the Crescent Atoll - spreads its influence, and a spider-faced figure shadows Kaimana’s movements. To secure her own safety, and that of her island home, Kaimana has to make a choice: turn her back on the people of the Crescent Atoll and continue enjoying the life she has won for herself, or give up all she holds dear to live up to the legend of the Taniwha Girl.  

©2016 Benedict Patrick (P)2020 Podium Audio

Narrator: Derek Perkins
Length: 17 hrs and 34 mins
Available on Audible