Cover art for Carys Bray

Carys Bray

1 rating

Summary

Carys Bray joins Robin Morgan in the Audible Studios to talk about her novel A Museum of You. Exclusive to Audible.

©2016 Audible Ltd (P)2016 Audible Ltd

Length: 15 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for When the Lights Go Out

When the Lights Go Out

Summary

If you believe your world is going to end, how should you live?  And what if, while preparing for disaster, you unwittingly precipitate it? While Emma Abram prepares for Christmas, her husband, Chris, frets about starvation and societal collapse. Desperate times call for desperate measures. Chris has turned off the heating. He treks his sons across the Moss in the drubbing rain. And he has other plans that, if voiced, Emma would surely veto. But it’s easier to ask for forgiveness than permission. Emma longs to lower a rope and winch Chris from the pit of his worries. But he doesn't want to be rescued or even reassured - he wants to pull her in after him.

©2020 Carys Bray (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Narrator: Robyn Addison
Author: Carys Bray
Length: 8 hrs and 39 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for How Much the Heart Can Hold

How Much the Heart Can Hold

Summary

A brilliant collection of seven original stories inspired by different concepts of love, by seven award-winning authors. Love is not a singular concept. In this collection, seven award-winning authors explore seven concepts of love: from philautia (self-love) to agape (love for humanity) and from storge (a natural affection for family) to mania (a frenzied, obsessive love): La Douleur Exquise (the pain of unrequited love) 'Before It Disappears' by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan (c) 2016 Pragma (enduring love) 'One More Thing Coming Undone' by D. W. Wilson (c) 2016 Philautia (love for oneself) 'White Wine' by Nikesh Shukla (c) 2016 Mania (obsessive love) 'Magdala, Who Slips Sometimes' by Donal Ryan (c) 2016 Storge (familial love) 'Codas' by Carys Bray (c) 2016 Eros (erotic love) 'The Love Story' by Grace McCleen (c) 2016 Agape (love for humanity) 'The Human World' by Bernardine Evaristo (c) 2016 Seven authors; seven short stories; seven flashes of love. The publication of How Much the Heart Can Hold is heralded by a Sceptre short story competition. The winning story, based on a concept of love, will be published in the paperback edition.

©2016 Carys Bray (P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

Available on Audible
Cover art for A Song for Issy Bradley

A Song for Issy Bradley

Summary

A mesmerizing literary debut novel of doubt, faith, and perseverance in the aftermath of a family tragedy - for fans of Me Before You, Little Bee, and Tell the Wolves I'm Home. The Bradleys see the world as a place where miracles are possible, and where nothing is more important than family. This is their story. It is the story of Ian Bradley - husband, father, math teacher, and Mormon bishop - and his unshakeable belief that everything will turn out all right if he can only endure to the end, like the pioneers did. It is the story of his wife Claire, her lonely wait for a sign from God, and her desperate need for life to pause while she comes to terms with tragedy. And it is the story of their children: 16-year-old Zippy, experiencing the throes of first love; cynical 14-year-old Al, who would rather play soccer than read the Book of Mormon; and seven-year-old Jacob, whose faith is bigger than a mustard seed - probably bigger than a toffee candy, he thinks - and which he's planning to use to mend his broken family with a miracle. Intensely moving, unexpectedly funny, and deeply observed, A Song for Issy Bradley explores the outer reaches of doubt and faith, and of a family trying to figure out how to carry on when the innermost workings of their world have broken apart.

©2014 Random House Group (P)2014 W. F. Howes

Narrator: Emma Gregory
Author: Carys Bray
Length: 10 hrs and 50 mins
Available on Audible