Cover art for The Secret Letter

The Secret Letter

185 ratings

Summary

Germany, 1939. A tumbledown farmhouse, on the outskirts of a close-knit village in the heart of the rolling hills of Bavaria. A once happy family home torn apart by Nazi rule. And one young girl who refuses to give up on what she believes in....  London, 2018: When 94-year-old Imogen receives a letter addressed to her in neat, unfamiliar handwriting, she notices the postmark is stamped from Germany - and it sends shivers down her spine....  Germany, 1939: Thirteen-year-old Magda is devastated by the loss of her best friend, shy and gentle Lotte, cruelly snatched from her and sent to a concentration camp – the Star of David sewn on her faded, brown coat. As the Nazi’s power takes hold, Magda realises she’s not like the other girls in her German village - she hates the fanatical new rules of the Hitler Youth. So Magda secretly joins The White Rose Movement and begins to rebel against the oppressive, frightening world around her.   But when an English bomber pilot crashes in a field near Magda’s home she is faced with an impossible choice: to risk the safety of her family or to save a stranger and make a difference in the devastating war that has claimed the lives of so many. Little does she know, her actions will have the power to change the life of another girl, on the other side of enemy lines, forever....  Inspired by a true story, this is a heart-wrenching, gripping and absolutely unforgettable tale of the strength of human kindness in a time of unimaginable heartbreak. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, sweeping, World War Two novel.

©2019 Debbie Rix (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

Length: 12 hrs and 21 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Photograph

The Photograph

7 ratings

Summary

If you loved The Letter by Kathryn Hughes and The Hourglass by Tracy Rees you’ll be swept away by this stunning summer story. Italy, 1958: Rachael is a young widow with a small child. After a lifetime of running for survival, of not knowing who to trust and where to call home, she finds herself in a place of safety. On a sun-drenched Italian island for one carefree summer the troubles of her past fade away, and she falls in love. But will Rachael’s new-found happiness bring her further heartache? England, 2017: Sophie has a handsome husband, a gorgeous house in the English countryside, and a successful career as an anthropologist. But the one thing she longs for is a baby of her own. As she struggles to conceive, cracks begin to appear in her marriage. So Sophie throws herself into her work and tries to seek comfort in childhood memories of her beloved grandmother Rachael. One afternoon, Sophie finds a forgotten letter and an exquisite silk bracelet hidden in Rachael’s old writing desk. Intrigued, she begins to unravel the extraordinary story of her grandmother’s past - and a secret that has the power to change everything.... The Photograph is an utterly beautiful and compelling story of love, loss, and a family secret spanning generations. What fans are saying about Debbie Rix: "I absolutely LOVED this book! Debbie Rix has blown me away with her enchanting and flawless writing style. One memorable and alluring novel...you must read this one!" (The Writing Garnet) "I loved every second of it. The drama, secrets, and scandal, the lust, the love, the heartbreak, I was mesmerized." (Paris Baker’s Book Nook)

©2018 Debbie Rix (P)2018 Bookouture

Narrator: Jan Cramer
Author: Debbie Rix
Length: 11 hrs and 50 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Italian Girls

The Italian Girls

7 ratings

Summary

The sun hung low in the sky, casting pink light all over the city. A faint breeze blew over the rooftops, as flocks of starlings swirled above her, swooping and diving in unison. It seemed unimaginable that, even now, German soldiers were marching along the streets below. It was time, she decided, for direct action. It was time to fight back. Each morning Livia Moretti makes her way from an apartment overlooking Florence’s famous Duomo to a nearby café, where she drinks espresso and reads the newspaper. To the crowds of tourists who pass by, snapping selfies, nothing about Livia will be memorable. She is simply an old lady. They walk on without knowing the part she played in ensuring the future of this beautiful city. And to Livia now, those dark days feel very far away too. But today, when she opens the paper, she sees a name she has not heard for a long time. A name that will bring memories flooding back of Nazi troops marching through the city and the dangers she faced as a young woman, carrying out secret missions for the resistance. Isabella Bellucci. A siren of the silver screen, Isabella cultivated all the right connections to ensure her rise to stardom. But when Rome falls to the Nazis, Isabella is suddenly faced with the choice between protecting herself and all she has worked for or sacrificing everything to save the man she loves. As the war rages across Europe, a terrible misunderstanding causes the fates of Isabella and Livia to become forever intertwined. And each woman must decide what she's willing to risk, to protect the ones she holds dear from a brutal enemy. Inspired by the incredible true stories of two women in wartime Italy, this is a heart-wrenching and unforgettable tale of love, resistance, betrayal and hope. Fans of Kate Furnivall, Fiona Valpy and My Name Is Eva will be absolutely gripped.

©2020 Debbie Rix (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Narrator: Katie Villa
Author: Debbie Rix
Length: 14 hrs and 9 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Silk Weaver's Wife

The Silk Weaver's Wife

1 rating

Summary

A heart-wrenching and unforgettable story of two women - centuries apart - linked by the hidden secrets of a beautiful woman in a Venetian painting.  Venice 1704: Anastasia is desperate to escape her controlling father and plans to marry her childhood sweetheart. But instead of the life she has always dreamed of, she finds herself trapped in Venice, the unwilling wife of a silk weaver.  Anastasia seeks comfort in painting and draws strength from her talents. Despite her circumstances, two women reach out to her and give Anastasia a reason to hope. And together they make a momentous decision which will change all of their lives....  London 2017: Millie wants more from her relationship and more from her life. So when her boss Max abruptly ends their affair, she takes the opportunity to write a feature in Italy.  Staying in a gorgeous villa, Millie unexpectedly falls in love with the owner, Lorenzo. Together they begin to unravel an incredible story passed down through generations of women.  And Millie finds herself compelled to discover the identity of a mysterious woman in a portrait....  A richly evocative story about lost secrets, family heirlooms and love against all odds. The Silk Weaver’s Wife is perfect for listeners who enjoyed Island of Secrets, The Secret Wife and Amy Snow.

©2019 Debbie Rix (P)2020 Audible, Ltd

Narrator: Sophie Roberts
Author: Debbie Rix
Length: 12 hrs and 11 mins
Available on Audible