Cover art for The Au Pair

The Au Pair

173 ratings

Summary

If V. C. Andrews and Kate Morton had a literary love child, Emma Rous' USA Today best seller The Au Pair would be it. One of the most anticipated books of 2019 from Pop Sugar, Bustle, Cosmo, Parade, and Goodreads! Seraphine Mayes and her twin brother, Danny, were born in the middle of summer at their family's estate on the Norfolk coast. Within hours of their birth, their mother threw herself from the cliffs, the au pair fled, and the village thrilled with whispers of dark cloaks, changelings, and the aloof couple who drew a young nanny into their inner circle. Now an adult, Seraphine mourns the recent death of her father. While going through his belongings, she uncovers a family photograph that raises dangerous questions. It was taken on the day the twins were born, and in the photo, their mother, surrounded by her husband and her young son, is smiling serenely and holding just one baby. Who is the child, and what really happened that day? 

©2019 Emma Rous (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Author: Emma Rous
Length: 11 hrs and 31 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Perfect Guests

The Perfect Guests

4 ratings

Summary

The USA Today best-selling author of The Au Pair returns with another delicious, twisty novel - about a grand estate with many secrets, an orphan caught in a web of lies, and a young woman playing a sinister game. 1988. Beth Soames is 14 years old when her aunt takes her to stay at Raven Hall, a rambling manor in the isolated East Anglian fens. The Averells, the family who lives there, are warm and welcoming, and Beth becomes fast friends with their daughter, Nina. At times, Beth even feels like she's truly part of the family...until they ask her to help them with a harmless game - and nothing is ever the same. 2019. Sadie Langton is an actress struggling to make ends meet when she lands a well-paying gig to pretend to be a guest at a weekend party. She is sent a suitcase of clothing, a dossier outlining the role she is to play, and instructions. It's strange, but she needs the money, and when she sees the stunning manor she'll be staying at, she figures she’s got nothing to lose.  In person, Raven Hall is even grander than she'd imagined - even with the damage from a fire decades before - but the walls seem to have eyes. As day turns to night, Sadie starts to feel that there's something off about the glamorous guests who arrive, and as the party begins, it becomes chillingly apparent their unseen host is playing games with everyone...including her.

©2021 Emma Rous (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Author: Emma Rous
Length: 8 hrs and 25 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Perfect Guests

The Perfect Guests

2 ratings

Summary

From the author of The Au Pair comes an enthralling time-slip mystery about two women, one house and a lifetime of secrets, perfect for fans of The Guest List and The Family Upstairs. You are cordially invited to play a game at Raven Hall.... When Beth was 14, she was invited into Raven Hall, a rambling, isolated manor house in the English countryside. The family who lived there were warm and welcoming, and Beth soon became firm friends with their daughter, Nina. At times, Beth even felt like she was truly part of the family.... But then they asked her to play a very strange game - and nothing was the same again.  Now, after years of abandonment, Raven Hall has been restored to its former glory and is playing host to an evening of murder mystery. But why does the tragic past of this imposing house seem to have such a hold on everyone? Is this really just a game, or a murder mystery for real? The guests are about to find out - with devastating consequences.... 

©2021 Emma Rous (P)2021 Hachette Audio UK

Narrator: Tamsin Kennard
Author: Emma Rous
Length: 7 hrs and 54 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Survival Lessons

Survival Lessons

Summary

Fifteen years ago, Alice Hoffman received a diagnosis that changed everything about the life she'd been living. Most significant - aside from the grueling physical ordeal she underwent - was the way it changed how she felt inside and what she thought she ought to be doing with her days. Now she has written the book that she needed to read then. In this honest, wise, and upbeat guide, Alice Hoffman provides a road map for the making of one's life into the very best it can be. As she says, "In many ways I wrote this book to remind myself of the beauty of life, something that's all too easy to overlook during the crisis of illness or loss. There were many times when I forgot about roses and starry nights. I forgot that our lives are made up of equal parts sorrow and joy, and that it's impossible to have one without the other…I wrote to remind myself that in the darkest hour the roses still bloom, the stars still come out at night. And to remind myself that, despite everything that was happening to me, there were still some choices I could make."

©2013 Alice Hoffman. Recorded by arrangement with Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, a division of Workman Publishing Company, Inc. (P)2013 HighBridge Company

Available on Audible