Cover art for Hell in the Heartland

Hell in the Heartland

3 ratings

Summary

"There is, in the best of us, a search for the truth, to serve the living and dead alike.... Jax Miller is one of those people and Hell in the Heartland is one of those books." (Robert Graysmith, New York Times best-selling author of Zodiac) As seen in: Marie Claire's "Best True Crime Books of 2020" HuffPost  OK! Magazine  CrimeReads  LitHub's "Best New Summer Books"  S-Town meets I'll Be Gone in the Dark in this stranger-than-fiction cold case from rural Oklahoma that has stumped authorities for two decades, concerning the disappearance of two teenage girls and the much larger mystery of murder, possible police cover-up, and an unimaginable truth.... On December 30, 1999, in rural Oklahoma, 16-year-old Ashley Freeman and her best friend, Lauria Bible, were having a sleepover. The next morning, the Freeman family trailer was in flames and both girls were missing. While rumors of drug debts, revenge, and police corruption abounded in the years that followed, the case remained unsolved, and the girls were never found. In 2015, crime writer Jax Miller - who had been haunted by the case - decided to travel to Oklahoma to find out what really happened on that winter night in 1999 and why the story was still simmering more than 15 years later. What she found was more than she could have ever bargained for: Evidence of jaw-dropping levels of police negligence, entire communities ravaged by methamphetamine addiction, and a series of interconnected murders with an ominously familiar pattern. These forgotten towns were wild, lawless, and home to some very dark secrets.

©2020 Jax Miller (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Narrator: Amy Landon
Author: Jax Miller
Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Hell in the Heartland

Hell in the Heartland

Summary

This stranger-than-fiction cold case is about to crack wide open!  Perfect for fans of I’ll Be Gone in the Dark and Zodiac. On December 30th, 1999, in rural Oklahoma, 16-year-old Ashley Freeman and her best friend, Lauria Bible, were having a sleepover. The next morning, the Freeman family trailer was in flames and both girls were missing. While rumours of drug debts, revenge killings and police corruption abounded in the years that followed, the case remained unsolved and the girls were never found. In 2016, crime writer Jax Miller travelled to Oklahoma to discover what really happened. What she unearthed was shocking. These forgotten towns were wild, lawless and home to some very dark secrets. Finally, in April 2018, the first arrests were made...could justice finally be in sight for the girls and their families?

©2020 Jax Miller (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Narrator: Amy Landon
Author: Jax Miller
Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Freedom's Child

Freedom's Child

Summary

Freedom Oliver has plenty of secrets. She lives in a small Oregon town and keeps mostly to herself. Her few friends and neighbors know she works at the local biker bar; they know she gets arrested for public drunkenness almost every night; they know she's brash, funny, and fearless. What they don't know is that Freedom Oliver is a fake name. They don't know that she was arrested for killing her husband, a cop, 20 years ago. They don't know she put her two kids up for adoption. They don't know that she's now in witness protection, regretting ever making a deal with the feds and missing her children with a heartache so strong it makes her ill. Then she learns that her daughter has gone missing, possibly kidnapped. Determined to find out what happened, Freedom slips free of her handlers, gets on a motorcycle, and heads for Kentucky, where her daughter was raised. As she ventures out on her own, no longer protected by the government, her troubled past comes roaring back at her: her husband's vengeful, sadistic family; her brief, terrifying stint in prison; and the family she chose to adopt her kids who are keeping dangerous secrets. Written with a ferocious wit and a breakneck pace, Freedom's Child is a thrilling, emotional portrait of a woman who risks everything to make amends for a past that haunts her still.

©2015 Jax Miller (P)2015 Random House Audio

Author: Jax Miller
Length: 11 hrs and 3 mins
Available on Audible