Cover art for When the World Stood Still

When the World Stood Still

Summary

All through the war, the nurses of St. Marylebone Infirmary have stood strong, but they’re about to be tested as never before when a deadly flu sweeps the country.... 1918, London. Twenty-year-old Emily Burdon has been training as a nurse at St. Marylebone Infirmary, learning on the job as she tends to patients from the crowded poorhouses that ring the hospital as well as wounded soldiers returning from the war. She pours her heart into her nursing while she waits for happier times - peace in Europe and the return of her childhood sweetheart, Lewis, from the Western Front.  But when the deadly Spanish Flu arrives in London on the heels of the war, Emily’s faith and courage are put to the test. All around her men and women in the prime of their lives are wasting away, and until a cure is found, there is nothing for Emily and her colleagues to do except make them comfortable, treat them as best they can...and, eventually, ease the pain of their passing.  But then Lewis catches the deadly flu himself on his way back home, just as a new doctor is transferred to head up Emily’s ward. From the distant land of Prince Edward Island in Canada, Dr. James Cantor is the first of a generations-old farming family to have left the island, and wartime London feels a long way away from the rugged beauty of his homeland. But despite their differences, he and Emily find common ground in their passion for helping patients and stopping the spread of the disease. But with life forever changed around her and Lewis’ future hanging by a thread, can Emily survive the most terrible epidemic in the history with her life - and heart - intact?  A heartbreaking historical novel based on true history - emotional and unforgettable. Perfect for fans of Jean Grainger, The Beantown Girls, and Diney Costeloe.

©2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd. (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Narrator: Melissa Vaughan
Author: Kate Eastham
Length: 7 hrs and 25 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Liverpool Nightingales

The Liverpool Nightingales

Summary

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The Liverpool Nightingales by Kate Eastham, read by Dorothy Lawrence.   Liverpool, 1863. Maud Linklater's life as a housemaid changes forever the day she takes poor little injured chimney sweep Alfie to hospital.   Helping to care for him on the ward, Maud is unexpectedly offered a place as a trainee at the newly opened nursing school run by Ada Houston.    Maud loves her new role and throws herself wholeheartedly into the busy, exhausting experience of living and working at the hospital. And she has a lot of fun along the way once she befriends fellow trainees, including the sweet Alice and chatterbox Edie. Although it soon becomes clear that Alice is troubled by a secret. And then little Alfie, to whom she is devoted, goes missing.    There is only one person Maud thinks can help her find him. Harry, the man whose affections she's been fending off for months.    Can Harry find Alfie before it is too late? And can Maud qualify despite everything that's thrown her way?

©2019 Kate Eastham (P)2019 Penguin Books Ltd

Author: Kate Eastham
Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Miss Nightingale's Nurses

Miss Nightingale's Nurses

Summary

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of Miss Nightingale's Nurses by Kate Eastham, read by Dorothy Lawrence.    Liverpool, 1855. Ada Houston is alone.    Her grandfather has recently passed away, and her brother is missing, last seen working on the Liverpool docks. Everyone assumes him to be dead.    But she will not give up hope.    Ada's determined search takes her to the Crimea, where she joins the team of Florence Nightingale's nurses. She may have set off looking for her brother, but along the way Ada finds friends, romance and a new purpose in her own life in the most troubling and difficult of places.

©2018 Kate Eastham (P)2018 Penguin Books Ltd

Author: Kate Eastham
Length: 12 hrs and 37 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for La Ola Latina [The Latino Wave]

La Ola Latina [The Latino Wave]

Summary

En las elecciones del 2004, hubo tres millones más votantes hispanos que en el año 2000. Los hispanos pusieron al presidente George W. Bush en la Casa Blanca en el 2000 y luego lo reeligieron en el 2004. Es imposible ignorar una influencia tan grande y un voto tan importante.  El cambio más dramático que está viviendo este país no tiene nada que ver con la guerra contra el terrorismo o con la economía; tiene que ver, simplemente, con la revolución demográfi ca impulsada por los latinos. Es la Ola Latina.  Enel 2002 los latinos se convirtieron, ofi cialmente, en el grupo minoritario más grande de Estados Unidos, superando los 38 millones de habitantes, cosa que no se esperaba que ocurriera hasta dentro de una década más. Para el año 2125 habrá más latinos que blancos (no hispanos) en Estados Unidos. Es decir, los hispanos pasarán de minoría a mayoría. Basándose en entrevistas con los más reconocidos expertos en temas latinos y con hispanos que viven a lo largo yancho de los Estados Unidos, Ramos intenta descifrar lo que signifi ca este sorprendente cambio demográfi co para todos los norteamericanos, hispanos o no, tanto en su vida diaria como en su cultura.  Con el profesionalismo, precisión, y sensibilidad que lo caracteriza, Ramos nos muestra quienes son, exactamente, estos nuevos americanos, cuáles son sus intereses políticos y por qué es importante que el resto del país se preocupe porentender lo que es la "experiencia latina". Quien ignore el reto de los latinos, corre el riesgo de darle la espalda al futuro de Estados Unidos. Please note: This audiobook is in Spanish.

©2004 Jorge Ramos (P)2004 HarperCollins Publishers, Inc.

Available on Audible
Cover art for Daughters of Liverpool

Daughters of Liverpool

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin. Liverpool, 1868.  Shrouded in secrecy, Alice Sampson gives birth to a beautiful baby girl.  But the former nurse's happiness is blighted by the knowledge that as a penniless, unwed mother, her future, and that of her child, can only be one of shame and disgrace.  Then a knock at the door brings a miracle: she is invited to return to the Liverpool Royal Infirmary and her beloved ward.  With the help of her friends and the welcome attentions of Reverend Seed, the hospital Chaplain, Alice slowly starts to rebuild her life.  But her hopes are shattered when her baby's father unexpectedly shows up to claim the child he knew nothing about.  Suddenly Alice is in danger of losing her baby, her position and her whole future.

©2019 Kate Eastham (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Length: 13 hrs and 11 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Coming Home to Liverpool

Coming Home to Liverpool

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin. Liverpool 1872. Arriving back in her hometown after spending some time training at the Infirmary for Women in New York, Maud can't wait to put her newfound skills to the test. But in a city built and run by men she must work hard to be accepted. Whilst her nurse friends welcome her back with open arms, there are others who do not wish her well, including the spiteful Nancy Sellers. Nancy resented Maud's talents as a nurse, and seeing her arrive back with such fanfare puts her nose firmly out of joint. She will stop at nothing to sabotage Maud's life and soon turns her attention to those Maud holds most dear.  But Maud Linklater is made of strong stuff, and together with her friends, Alice and Eddie, can she overcome any obstacle Nancy, and Liverpool, might throw her way?

©2020 Kate Eastham (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Author: Kate Eastham
Length: 12 hrs and 16 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for An Angel's Work

An Angel's Work

Summary

Jo forced herself to look into the cot, but at first all she could see was grey dust from the explosion. Then, a tiny hand poked out through a layer of grit. In seconds she had the child scooped up and she could feel its little body warm against her own. She felt an almost painful surge of emotion welling up from the pit of her stomach. With tears pouring down her cheeks, she stood rocking and soothing the baby, knowing there was very little chance the child’s mother had survived. England, 1941. After three nights of relentless bombing from German aircraft, trained nurse Jo Brooks is told to report to the basement theater of Mill Road Hospital. She goes with a heavy heart, not wanting to leave behind her best friend Moira, who is desperately soothing new mothers on the maternity ward. As Jo arrives safely underground, the ward takes a direct hit. Pulling herself from the rubble, Jo’s first priority must be her patients...but she can’t stop herself frantically searching for Moira. When Jo eventually finds her buried beneath a foot of bricks and stone; Moira is barely clinging to life. Jo makes a solemn vow: She will do whatever it takes to help the Allies win the war, even if it means sacrificing her own safety. The opportunity to make good on her promise comes sooner than she expects - nurses are badly needed to evacuate wounded Allies across enemy lines. It will be dangerous, heartbreaking work, and her life will be at risk every moment, but Jo knows that the moment has come to prove herself at last.... A powerfully emotional wartime novel about friendship and love in the most terrible of circumstances. Perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Jean Grainger, and Soraya M. Lane. 

©2020 Kate Eastham (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Length: 7 hrs and 37 mins
Available on Audible