Cover art for The Glorious Heresies

The Glorious Heresies

8 ratings

Summary

Winner of the Baileys' Women's Prize for Fiction 2016. Winner of the Desmond Elliot Prize 2016. Longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize 2016. Longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Novel of the Year. He was definitely dead, whoever he was. He wore a once-black jumper and a pair of shiny tracksuit bottoms. The back of his head was cracked and his hair matted, but it had been foxy before that. A tall man, a skinny rake, another string of piss, now departed. She hadn't gotten a look at his face before she flaked him with the Holy Stone, and she couldn't bring herself to turn him over. One messy murder affects the lives of five misfits who exist on the fringes of Ireland's postcrash society. Ryan is a 15-year-old drug dealer desperate not to turn out like his alcoholic father, Tony, whose obsession with his unhinged next-door neighbour threatens to ruin him and his family. Georgie is a prostitute whose willingness to feign a religious conversion has dangerous repercussions while Maureen, the accidental murderer, has returned to Cork after 40 years in exile to discover that Jimmy, the son she was forced to give up years before, has grown into the most fearsome gangster in the city. In seeking atonement for the murder and a multitude of other perceived sins, Maureen threatens to destroy everything her son has worked so hard for while her actions risk bringing the intertwined lives of the Irish underworld into the spotlight.... Biting, moving and darkly funny, The Glorious Heresies explores salvation, shame and the legacy of Ireland's 20th-century attitudes towards sex and family.

©2015 Lisa McInerney (P)2016 John Murray Press

Length: 10 hrs and 56 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Taming the Highland Bride

Taming the Highland Bride

8 ratings

Summary

She was ready to let her heart run wild.... Merry Stewart has had enough! Enough of her brothers, whose behavior would make even the most improper lady blush. Enough of their Highland home, which would surely have fallen to ruin were it not for her. She dreams of escaping into the arms of her betrothed, Alexander d'Aumesbery-even though they haven't yet met. But when they do, Merry is devastated. It seems he's no better than the men in her family. So beautiful, so brazen . . . From the moment he meets Merry, Alexander is determined to make her his. Desperate to convince her he's nothing like the members of her roguish clan, he will prove he is every bit the well-mannered gentleman. Yet, beneath it all beats a heart as intense and uncontrollable as hers. And finally, when his life is threatened, Merry realizes he's the husband she's been waiting for . . . and their passion becomes the one thing that cannot be tamed.

©2010 Lynsay Sands (P)2010 HarperCollins Publishers

Category: Romance, Historical
Length: 9 hrs and 38 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for If Only

If Only

3 ratings

Summary

Kate Eberlen, the best-selling author of Miss You, returns with a serendipitous and modern romance. For fans of David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes, If Only is the story of two people who fall in love and the secrets that tear them apart. How can you know someone until you learn to talk about the past?  Letty and Alf are the only English speakers in an Italian class in Rome, where they discover that the language that really connects them is dance. Alf is 19, a former ballroom champion who seems reassuringly confident and at ease with himself. Letty, 22, is unusually reserved and studious, having been forced to give up her childhood dream of becoming a ballet dancer. They come from different worlds, but when they waltz around the Piazza Navona together, a passionate relationship begins.  Can their decision to live in the moment in the Eternal City keep their histories from encroaching? Why is Alf living in a shared apartment, estranged from his family? And what has wrenched Letty away from the apparent security of her Oxford University degree? They each find themselves haunted by the fear that the secrets not yet shared will tear them apart.  If Only is a novel about identity, secrets, passion, and dance - and the indefinable collision of physical, emotional, and intellectual excitement that we call falling in love. 

©2020 Kate Eberlen (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

Length: 13 hrs and 6 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Lisa McInerney

Lisa McInerney

2 ratings

Summary

Irish writer Lisa McInerney joins Robin Morgan in the Audible Studios just a few days after her debut novel, The Glorious Heresies, was awarded the prestigious Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction.

©2016 Audible Ltd (P)2016 Audible Ltd

Available on Audible
Cover art for The Blood Miracles

The Blood Miracles

Summary

The second novel from the author of the Baileys Prize-winning The Glorious Heresies. Like all 20-year-olds, Ryan Cusack is trying to get his head around who he is. This is not a good time for his boss to exploit his dual heritage by opening a new black market route from Italy to Ireland. It is certainly not a good time for his adored girlfriend to decide he's irreparably corrupted. And he really wishes he hadn't accidentally caught the eye of an ornery grandmother who fancies herself his saviour. There may be a way clear of the chaos in the business proposals of music promoter Colm and in the attention of the charming, impulsive Natalie. But now that his boss' ambitions have rattled the city, Ryan is about to find out what he's made of, and it might be that chaos is in his blood.

©2017 Lisa McInerney (P)2017 John Murray Press

Length: 8 hrs and 18 mins
Available on Audible