Cover art for Blood Sport

Blood Sport

1 rating

Summary

If outdoor literature has its cult novel, Blood Sport is it. Robert Jones has created a new world, in which a mythical river and wilderness become the setting for a father and son journey like no other. In one of the earliest examples of magical realism in an American novel, Jones takes readers deep into the heart of darkness. The intensity, the suspense, and the mind-bending adventure still place Blood Sport in a category all its own.

©1997 Robert F. Jones (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

Narrator: Jack Marshall
Length: 9 hrs and 14 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Tie My Bones to Her Back

Tie My Bones to Her Back

Summary

A historic western that opens in 1873, a time when recession is forcing thousands westwards to recoup their fortunes. The West is tough, brutal and the Indian is the enemy. But when a white woman is raped, it is a half-breed Cheyenne who comes to the rescue. From the author of Jake and Upland Passage.

©1997 2014 Robert Jones (P)2013 Audible Inc.

Narrator: Donna Postel
Length: 9 hrs and 49 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Slade's Glacier

Slade's Glacier

Summary

Slade’s Glacier is a tale of discovery and destruction, betrayal and revenge, set in the rugged "Great Land" of Alaska. Jack Slade and Sam Healey, flying partners during World War II, establish a bush pilot business in Alaska after the war. When their C-47 Dakota is forced down on a glacier by a wolverine in the cargo deck that breaks out of its cage, they discover a valley that offers the realization each man's dreams. To Jack Slade, it’s the ideal place to homestead, raise a family, and live simply as a professional hunting and fishing guide; to Healey, the pool of crude oil he locates under the glacial ice promises the wealth he always wanted. In scenes that range from Alaska’s coastal fishing ports to the high, fierce wastelands of the interior, we watch each man lay the plans for their individual goals - and ultimately come into fatal conflict. Along the way, they meet a wide, colorful variety of Alaskan types, including Charlie Blue, a Tlingit Indian, shaman, and seer; Norman Ormandy, the tough saloonkeeper of Gurry Bay; and Malec Mummad-Afi, a wealthy exiled Iranian oil king and sheep hunter.

©1981, 2014 Louise Jones (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

Narrator: Brian Holsopple
Length: 6 hrs and 47 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Deadville

Deadville

Summary

In the year 1833, two young brothers journey into the Wild West to seek their fortune; little do they know they're embarking on the adventure of their lives. Expecting to stumble upon riches as they make their way westward, sixteen-year-old Dillon Griffith and his older brother Owen instead encounter hardship after hardship in the form of Indian raids, bloodthirsty villains, robbery, and kidnapping. With the help of a Shawnee trapper and scout, a runaway slave-turned-mountain man, and a beautiful American Indian warrior, the brothers battle the unexpected setbacks and obstacles that life in the West throws their way, and endeavor to find their place on the American frontier. Packed full of riveting action, gore, and vengeance, Deadville paints a thrilling - and historically pristine - picture of life in the Old West, from the physical environment to the social and economic milieus of frontier society. Jones' famously meticulous research, inviting literary style, and suspenseful plot succeed in transporting listeners to a time when lawlessness prevailed and buffalo roamed - when the belief in Manifest Destiny took America by storm and changed the country forever.

©2008, 2013 Robert F. Jones (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

Narrator: John McLain
Length: 8 hrs and 19 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Bloodroot

Bloodroot

Summary

From the acclaimed author of Blood Sport and Blood Tide, comes another impressing, original work of twisted fiction. In the beginning was the Oak, its hungry roots reaching deep into the earth, its gnarled limbs searching the distant heavens. Two hundred years ago, Obediah Magrute worshipped the Oak and died violently beneath it, feeding it with his blood and bone, shouting his chilling curse to the skies. Now, Laura and Mark Avery have come to the bustling little Vermont village. They have given up their frenetic city life to settle in the old Eldridge Place and to start their family. Quiet and quaint, the village is nestled among the rolling green hills of Hubley's Gore. For centuries, the inhabitants of the little farming village had tilled the soil, eking out a living from the harsh land, bound together by time, by ties of kinship, by their battle against the savage elements...and by the dark secret in their midst. Silent, supreme, it held sway over them. Buried deep in the soil, in the heart of the dense forest, in the soul of the living wood, it commanded the very elements. It demanded obedience and unholy worship and...sacrifice. Laura and Mark are not superstitious, though. They find the local legends charming. But as the seasons turn and the full moon rises, people die in Hubley's Gore in thrall to an ancient, terrible power.

©2015 Louise Jones (P)2015 Audible, Inc.

Length: 7 hrs and 45 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Blood Tide

Blood Tide

Summary

In the tradition of Clive Cussler and Alistair MacLean, Blood Tide is a gripping novel of betrayal and revenge set in a remote and lawless corner of the Philippines. Unjustly blamed for a failed escape attempt from a North Vietnamese prison, James Culdee, a career US Navy noncom who has served his country with distinction for 20 years, is suddenly and unfairly forced into a disgraceful retirement. Devastated, Culdee retreats into alcoholism until he is rescued by his daughter, Miranda, a charter boat skipper whose sloop, the Seamark, has been stolen. When Miranda learns that the Seamark has been sighted in the dangerous and primitive Flyaway Islands of the Philippines, father and daughter sail off in pursuit, on a voyage that will carry them across the Pacific. Arriving in the Flyaways, where local pirates and drug smugglers are as treacherous as the hidden shoals and reefs, Culdee and Miranda join a band of Filipinio insurgents plotting to overthrow a tyrannical American drug lord, who may or may not be the same "slimy" who betrayed Culdee in Vietnam. Filled with action, suspense, and nautical lore, Blood Tide is a tale of intrigue, courage, and passion - of a father and a daughter's battle against overwhelming odds in infernal jungles where murder is a sport and madness a way of life.

©2015 Louise Jones (P)2015 Audible, Inc.

Narrator: Alex Hyde-White
Length: 9 hrs and 15 mins
Available on Audible