Cover art for The Girl They Left Behind

The Girl They Left Behind

69 ratings

Summary

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation - perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key. On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy, childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation. Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early 20s and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time, they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor’s dark secrets. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms and to confront the painful enigma of her past. 

©2018 Roxanne Veletzos (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

Length: 10 hrs and 57 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Legacy

Legacy

30 ratings

Summary

Illusions shatter - and Sophie and her friends face impossible choices - in this astonishing eighth book in the New York Times and USA Today best-selling Keeper of the Lost Cities series.  Sophie Foster wants answers. But after a lifetime of lies, sometimes the truth is the most dangerous discovery. Even the smallest secret comes with terrifying new responsibilities.  And Sophie’s not the only one with blank spots in her past, or mysteries surrounding her family. She and her friends are part of something much bigger than they imagined - and their roles have already been chosen for them.  Every clue drags them deeper into the conspiracy. Every memory forces them to question everything - especially one another. And the harder they fight, the more the lines blur between friend and enemy.

©2019 Shannon Messenger (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

Available on Audible