Cover art for Agatha Christie: An Autobiography

Agatha Christie: An Autobiography

10 ratings

Summary

Back in print in an all-new edition is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the "Queen of Mystery". Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran’s fascinating biographies Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world’s most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style - and here in her own voice. These audio excerpts were dictated by Agatha Christie herself.  The New York Times Book Review called Christie’s autobiography a "joyful adventure," saying, "she brings the sense of wonder... to her extraordinary career." Please note: This is a historical recording, and the audio quality is reflective of the time in which it was recorded.

©1977 Agatha Christie Limited (P)2010 Agatha Christie Archive Trust

Narrator: Agatha Christie
Length: 1 hr and 19 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Agatha Christie Close Up

Agatha Christie Close Up

Summary

A fascinating collection of archive radio programmes focusing on the life and work of crime fiction's grande dame and featuring Agatha Christie in her own words. Dame Agatha Christie published 66 detective novels and 14 short-story collections in her lifetime, but to the public she remained an enigmatic figure. This quartet of BBC radio programmes looks at the woman behind the books and explores the career of one of Britain's most famous mystery writers. Agatha Christie Close Up (1955) tells the story of the celebrated author, with contributions from Richard Attenborough, Allen Lane, Margaret Lockwood and Peter Saunders, while in The Mysterious Dame Agatha (1975), Cliff Michelmore presents an 85th birthday tribute with Peter Saunders, Nigel Stock and Julian Symons. Women of Mystery: Queen of Crime (1982) sees Jessica Mann investigating women crime writers and Christie in particular, and in Agatha Christie: Speaking Her Own Words (2015), we hear specially selected excerpts from the initial dictated version of Christie's autobiography. Recorded in 1965, these unedited personal tapes were discovered by her grandson, Matthew Prichard, who introduces the programme. Featuring the voices of fellow writers, friends, family and the Queen of Crime herself, this wide-ranging collection sheds new light on the best-selling novelist of all time. Duration: 2 hours approx.

©2016 BBC Worldwide Ltd. (P)2016 BBC Worldwide Ltd.

Length: 1 hr and 46 mins
Available on Audible