Cover art for Shadows in Heaven

Shadows in Heaven

Summary

In postwar Tarabeg, two women are waiting for ambitious Michael Malone to return home. Rosie is the local schoolteacher, and most people think she is promised to him. Just a few have guessed that he has secretly begun to woo Sarah, whose brutal fisherman father would kill her if he knew. Both Rosie and Sarah love Michael, both hope to become his wife and their lives will interweave in a tale of tangled secrets, old promises and new feuds. Michael Malone's choice will have fateful consequences for everyone - especially, in due course, for his young daughter....

©2018 Nadine Dorries (P)2018 W. F. Howes Ltd

Narrator: Avena Wallace
Length: 10 hrs and 58 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Mysteries Uncovered

Mysteries Uncovered

Summary

The mysterious is all around us.... UFOs, extraterrestrial encounters, baffling disappearances - Mysteries Uncovered investigates, without prejudice, some of the most notorious, disturbing, and enduring mysteries ever recorded. UFO activity: the Roswell Incident, the Phoenix Lights, the Rendlesham Incident.... Alien abduction: the Barney and Betty Hill case.... Uncanny events: the missing crew of the Marie Celeste, the lost colony of Roanoke, the fate of Amelia Earhart.... Notorious disappearances: the cases of Lord Lucan and "D.B. Cooper"....  For every instance rationalized away, there is another that defies explanation.... Emily G. Thompson has several years experience as an investigative reporter. She has her own popular true crime website and podcast, Morbidology, and is the co-author of DK's Unsolved Murders and Cults Uncovered.

©2020 Emily G. Thompson (P)2020 DK

Narrator: Avena Wallace
Length: 7 hrs and 4 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Mary Kate

Mary Kate

Summary

Mary Kate Malone runs away to Liverpool and into all kinds of trouble in this sequel to Shadows In Heaven - from the best-selling author of The Four Streets trilogy and the Lovely Lane series. Liverpool, 1963. Mary Kate Malone is 17 and bitterly unhappy that her father has married again after the death of her mother. On her last day at school, she decides to leave home in Tarabeg on the west coast of Ireland and head for Liverpool to find her mother's sister. But absolutely nothing goes to plan. Within hours of disembarking, she finds herself penniless and alone, with no place to stay and no idea how she will survive. Meanwhile, back in Ireland, where old sins cast long shadows, a long-buried secret is about to come to light and a day of reckoning, in the shape of a stranger from America, will set an unstoppable chain of events in motion.

©2019 Nadine Dorries (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

Narrator: Avena Wallace
Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Secret Sister

The Secret Sister

1 rating

Summary

Can you trust a sister who is a stranger? Ella Matthews has it all. A beautiful house, a charming husband and a precious baby daughter – her life has pretty much turned out exactly as she planned. But when Ella’s mother tragically dies, her perfect life starts to crack. Her mother had been harbouring a life-long secret. Ella has a sister – an older sister – called Colleen. Excited by the thought of no-longer being an only child, Ella can’t wait to find her. But Colleen has a whirlwind past of her own. Desperate to escape her troubles, she is ready to go to any length to start afresh. As their paths collide, someone is keeping secrets...and when Colleen mysteriously disappears without notice, Ella can’t help but question if she should have started looking for her at all....

©2020 Karen Clarke and Amanda Brittany (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Length: 9 hrs and 18 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Unsolved Murders

Unsolved Murders

Summary

Ever wondered who murdered JonBenét Ramsey, or who terrorized San Francisco as the Zodiac Killer? Puzzled over the notorious Black Dahlia murder, or the shooting of TV presenter Jill Dando? This true crime audiobook makes you the detective, investigating some of the most infamous unsolved cases of the 20th and 21st centuries. Crime scenes, crucial evidence, witnesses, and persons of interest are clearly and concisely presented, along with essential details and clues, so you can judge for yourself: Who could have done it?

Unsolved Murders also profiles the psychology of the killer, discusses the background and life of the unfortunate victim (or victims), and how these horrific crimes impacted the victim's family and friends. From domestic tragedies to serial killers with a love for the macabre, this book will have you returning to the cases again and again. Can you unlock the secrets of these unsolved crimes where others have failed?

Delve into the audiobook of Unsolved Murders: True Crime Cases Uncovered and have a go!

Amber Hunt is the New York Times and Wall Street Journal best-selling author of The Kennedy Wives: Triumph and Tragedy in America's Most Public Family. She's an award-winning crime reporter and host of the acclaimed true crime podcast Accused. 

Emily G. Thompson has several years experience as an investigative reporter. She has her own popular true crime website, Morbidology, and is author of true crime book Unsolved Child Murders: Eighteen American Cases.

© 2019 Amber Hunt; Emily G. Thompson © 2020 DK Audio

©2019 Amber Hunt and Emily G. Thompson (P)2020 Random House Audio

Narrator: Avena Wallace
Length: 5 hrs and 38 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Cults Uncovered

Cults Uncovered

1 rating

Summary

Uncover the secrets of the world's cruelest criminal cults.

How did Charles Manson inspire his "family" to launch a campaign of murder? What twisted ideology lay behind horrific events like the Waco Siege, Aum Shinrikyo's poison-gas attack on the Tokyo metro, and the mass suicides and murders of Jonestown? Why did the suicidal adherents of Heaven's Gate believe doomsday was at hand? How did the idealistic commune of Rajneeshpuram collapse into shocking controversies, involving biological terrorism and attempted murder? The shocking truth about some of the most disturbing criminal cults that have ever existed are discussed in this audiobook.

Cults Uncovered explores these and many more strange and disturbing factions and sects from all over the world to expose terrifying stories of manipulation, coercion, abuse, and murder.

Emily G. Thompson has several years experience as an investigative reporter. She has her own popular true crime website, Morbidology, and has contributed articles to numerous blogs and websites. She is the author of Unsolved Child Murders: Eighteen American Cases, 1956-1998 and the co-author of DK's Unsolved Murders:True Crime Cases Uncovered.

© 2020 Emily G. Thompson © 2020 DK Audio

©2020 Emily G. Thompson (P)2020 DK

Narrator: Avena Wallace
Length: 6 hrs and 37 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Rewrite the Stars

Rewrite the Stars

Summary

It’s never too late to say I love you… A stunning Christmas romance for fans of Josie Silver and Jojo Moyes. From the moment they meet one December day there’s something between Charlotte Taylor and her brother’s best friend, Tom Farley. But Tom’s already taken, and Charlie has to let him go.... It’s another five years before their paths cross again, only a secret from the past forces Charlie to make a choice. She promises herself she’ll never look back.... The years pass, and Charlie moves on with her life, but she can never forget Tom. He’s always there whispering, ‘What if?’ Can Charlie leave the life she has built for one last chance with Tom? Or is the one that got away not really the one at all...?

©2019 Emma Heatherington (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Narrator: Avena Wallace
Length: 9 hrs and 13 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Velvet Ribbon

The Velvet Ribbon

Summary

Mary Kate Malone has escaped from Ireland to seek her fortune in Liverpool, but from the beginning, things go wrong, and now she is living a secret life in the shadows, with tragedy looming. Mary Kate Malone has come to Liverpool from Ireland to seek her fortune, but from the very beginning things have gone wrong. Now she is living secretly with her great love, Dr Nicholas Marcus, while his wife, Lavinia, mother of his two sons, plots her revenge on the girl she believes has destroyed her marriage. When disaster strikes, Mary Kate's first instinct is to flee to her family in Ireland. But back in Tarabeg, a charismatic American stranger has set the village by the ears, and it isn't the place Mary Kate remembers any more.  To add to her problems, Dr Gaskell and Matron from St Angelus Hospital have come to Tarabeg to recruit nurses, and Mary Kate's Liverpool life comes back to haunt her with a vengeance. 

©2019 Nadine Dorries (P)2020 Head of Zeus

Narrator: Avena Wallace
Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
Available on Audible