Cover art for Alias Fortezza

Alias Fortezza

3 ratings

Summary

A harrowing odyssey of cybercrime and punishment in the United States. In 2012, 21-year-old Dutch hacker David Schrooten was living at his parents’ house in the Netherlands and spending most of his time online. When he wasn’t squabbling with fellow hackers, he was making plans to visit his Romanian girlfriend. His life turned upside-down when Interpol agents arrested him at an airport in Romania on international hacking charges involving $63 million in damages. Soon Schrooten found himself extradited to the United States, a country where he had never been before. He was imprisoned in Seattle, WA, where he awaited trial, some 5,000 miles from home.  While his future hung in the air, Schrooten kept a journal chronicling his every experience - from the inept public defenders on whom his life depended, to the unimaginable horrors of solitary confinement. And it was during this time that Schrooten struck up a correspondence with a Dutch-American journalist who vowed to help him tell his story.  Alias Fortezza: A Hacker’s Odyssey is the astounding journey, told in Schrooten’s own words, of a young foreigner’s incarceration, as well as a stunning examination of the US justice system at work.

©2019 David Schrooten and Freke Vuijst (P)2019 Audible Originals, LLC.

Length: 14 hrs and 30 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Call upon the Water

Call upon the Water

Summary

This “story of passion, possession, and a painful education in love” (Sarah Dunant, author of In the Name of the Family), spanning several decades in 17th-century Great Britain and America, evocatively explores the power of nature versus man and man versus woman by “a lovely writer [who] can take your breath away” (The New York Times Book Review).  I am an engineer and a measured man of the world. I prefer to weigh everything in the balance, to calculate and to plan. Yet my own heart is going faster than I can now count. In 1649, Jan Brunt arrives in Great Britain from the Netherlands to work on draining and developing an expanse of marshy wetlands known as the Great Level. It is here in this wild country that he meets Eliza, a local woman whose love overturns his ordered vision. Determined to help her strive beyond her situation, Jan is heedless of her devotion to her home and way of life. When she uses the education Jan has given her to sabotage his work, Eliza is brutally punished, and Jan flees to the New World. In the American colonies, profiteers on Manatus Eyland are hungry for viable land to develop, and Jan’s skills as an engineer are highly prized. His prosperous new life is rattled, however, on a spring morning when a boy delivers a note that prompts him to remember the Great Level and confront all that was lost there. Eliza has made it to the New World and is once again using the education Jan gave her to bend the landscape - this time to find her own place of freedom. Perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Geraldine Brooks, Call upon the Water is “a haunting book with characters who stay with the reader as their lives unfold like a sea mist” (Philippa Gregory, New York Times best-selling author).  *Note: This work was published in the UK under the title The Great Level.

©2019 Stella Tillyard (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

Length: 8 hrs and 24 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Great Level

The Great Level

Summary

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Great Level by Stella Tillyard, read by Boris Hiestand and Maggie Service. ‘I am an engineer and a measured man of the world. I prefer to weigh everything in the balance, to calculate and to plan. Yet my own heart is going faster than I can now count.’ In 1649, Jan Brunt, a Dutchman, arrives in England to work on draining and developing the Great Level, an expanse of marsh in the heart of the fen country. It is here he meets Eliza, whose love overturns his ordered vision and whose act of resistance forces him to see the world differently. Jan flees to the New World, where the spirit of avarice is raging and his skills as an engineer are prized. Then one spring morning a boy delivers a note that prompts him to remember the Fens and confront all that was lost there.  The Great Level is a dramatic and elemental story about two people whose differences draw them together then drive them apart. Jan and Eliza’s journeys, like the century they inhabit, are filled with conflict, hard graft and adventure - and see them searching for their own piece of solid ground.

©2018 Stella Tillyard (P)2018 Random House Audiobooks

Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
Available on Audible