Cover art for StarChaser

StarChaser

2 ratings

Summary

In the third and final book in the TodHunter Moon series, Tod must find a replacement Egg of the Orm before the Castle - and all its Magyk - disappears forever. Perfect for fans of Angie Sage's original Septimus Heap series and Brandon Mull's Fablehaven series. Almost one year ago, Alice TodHunter Moon left her PathFinder village to become Apprentice to ExtraOrdinary Wizard Septimus Heap. Now, in faraway lands, the Castle is in peril. The brilliant blue stone is crumbling to dust, and both the witch Marisa and the wicked Red Queen have their eyes on the throne. But as Tod sets off on a hazardous journey to find a new Keystone, her life may be in the greatest danger of all. Can she save the Castle while evading the fate that befell her mother? This epic finale to the series praised by Kirkus as "fast-paced, fully satisfying, and ExtraOrdinary" celebrates how hard work, selflessness, and the courage to be who you are can create a harmony that spans the seas and stars.

©2016 Angie Sage (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

Available on Audible
Cover art for Piercing the Darkness

Piercing the Darkness

2 ratings

Summary

Frank Peretti thrills millions with his suspense-filled, best-selling inspirational Darkness series, which portrays unforgettable confrontations between angelic and demonic forces. The first book in the series, This Present Darkness, topped Christian fiction lists. Now, the great spiritual war continues in Piercing the Darkness.  In the small town of Bacon's Corner, powerful demons are working to ensnare the souls of the townspeople. A woman has been murdered, the Christian school is under attack, and the town is divided by a legal struggle. As heavenly beings rally to aid the faithful, gigantic evil ones are on the alert, looking for any sign of weakness.  Each fast-paced chapter of this novel is filled with vivid descriptions of angels and demons. And the trials of the believers are no less absorbing. Richard Ferrone's dramatic narration highlights each test of faith and truth.

©1989, 2003 Frank E. Peretti (P)2001 Recorded Books

Available on Audible
Cover art for The Shadow of the Crescent Moon

The Shadow of the Crescent Moon

2 ratings

Summary

Longlisted – Baileys Women’s Prize 2014Set over the course of one morning in a small town in Pakistan's tribal regions, close to the border with Afghanistan, The Shadow of the Crescent Moon is the story of three brothers living through a world on fire. Two women - the beautiful Samarra and the unsettling Mina - are at the heart of the novel and through them unfolds a story of love, of loss, and how the backdrop of continuous war forces the individual to make terrible choices; to choose hope over love, the future over the present. Devastatingly moving, fast-paced and a deeply resonant novel that goes to the heart of our times, The Shadow of the Crescent Moon is an extraordinary debut work of fiction and marks the beginning of a terrific career for this young novelist. Fatima Bhutto was born in Kabul, Afghanistan in 1982. She is a poet, writer and journalist, author of the memoir Songs of Blood and Sword (2010). She is also the niece of former Prime Minister of Pakistan Benazir Bhutto. Fatima's work has appeared in various publications including The Guardian, The Financial Times, and The New Statesman. The Shadow of the Crescent Moon is her first novel. She lives and writes in Karachi, Pakistan.

©2013 Fatima Bhutto (P)2013 AudibleLtd

Narrator: Riz Ahmed
Length: 6 hrs and 1 min
Available on Audible
Cover art for Assassin's Creed: Gold

Assassin's Creed: Gold

120 ratings

Summary

Please note: This title contains explicit language Assassin’s Creed: Gold is a stand-alone tale from the Assassin's Creed universe in which we meet Aliyah Khan, a card shark and hustler who’s been dealt a rough hand in life. Surviving through her smarts and street scams, Aliyah struggles to get by until she loses big time to a mysterious older man, Gavin Banks. Her only option to repay Banks is to become an Assassin. During her training, Banks tells Aliyah of the centuries-old battle between the Assassins and Templars, imploring her to help him decode a secret message inscribed on an illegal form of currency during the Great Recoinage of 1696.    With a cast of characters beloved the world over by fans of the franchise, Assassin’s Creed: Gold tells a gripping tale of imminent economic collapse, featuring appearances from Warden of the Royal Mint, Isaac Newton, con artist and counterfeiter William Chaloner, blind assassin Omar Khaled and assassin trainer Rose Galloway. Equal parts adrenaline-fueled and thought-provoking, Assassin’s Creed: Gold draws a compelling parallel with the financial chaos of Isaac Newton’s 17th-century Britain and the economic uncertainty of our more recent history.   Audible’s new full-cast drama will realise the clash of the Assassins and Templars as a gripping audio thriller with lead performances from Riz Ahmed (Emmy winner, Golden Globe nominee, The Night Of, Rogue One, Four Lions), Anthony Head (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Merlin, Little Britain), Danny Wallace (BAFTA Games Award winner, Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate, Assassin’s Creed III) and Tamara Lawrance (Corvidae, On Chesil Beach).   Performed by: Riz Ahmed, Laura Aikman, Rachel Atkins, Brian Bowles, Andrew Branch, John Chancer, Lily Donovan, Rupert Fairley, Ray Fearon, Owen Findlay, Jason Forbes, Nicholas Goh, Anthony Head, David John, Jim Johnson, Will Kelly, Tamara Lawrance, John Last, Gemma Lawrence, Nicholas le Prevost, Simon Lipson, Hayward Morse, Paul Panting, Laila Payne, Nigel Pilkington, Joseph Radcliffe, David Rintoul, Anne Rosenfeld, Jennifer Saayeng, Gyuri Sarossy, Danny Wallace and Daniel Weyman.

©2019 Ubisoft Entertainment (P)2020 Audible, Ltd

Available on Audible
Cover art for The Sandman

The Sandman

1600 ratings

Summary

Please note: This content is not for kids. It is for mature audiences only. Just like the original graphic novels, this audio adaptation contains explicit language and graphic violence, as well as strong sexual content and themes. Discretion is advised. Hailed by the Los Angeles Times Magazine as “the greatest epic in the history of comic books”, The Sandman changed the game with its dark, literary world of fantasy and horror - creating a global, cultural phenomenon in the process. At long last, Audible and DC present the first-ever audio production of the New York Times best-selling series written by acclaimed storyteller Neil Gaiman (who also serves as co-executive producer). Adapted and directed by multi-award-winner (and frequent Gaiman collaborator) Dirk Maggs, and performed by an ensemble cast with James McAvoy (It, Parts One and Two, X-Men: First Class, Split) in the title role, this first installment of a multi-part original audio series will transport you to a world that re-writes the rules of audio entertainment the way that The Sandman originally re-defined the graphic novel.  When The Sandman, also known as Lord Morpheus - the immortal king of dreams, stories and the imagination - is pulled from his realm and imprisoned on Earth by a nefarious cult, he languishes for decades before finally escaping. Once free, he must retrieve the three “tools” that will restore his power and help him to rebuild his dominion, which has deteriorated in his absence. As the multi-threaded story unspools, The Sandman descends into Hell to confront Lucifer (Michael Sheen), chases rogue nightmares who have escaped his realm, and crosses paths with an array of characters from DC comic books, ancient myths, and real-world history, including: Inmates of Gotham City's Arkham Asylum, Doctor Destiny, the muse Calliope, the three Fates, William Shakespeare (Arthur Darvill), and many more.  A powerhouse supporting cast helps translate this masterwork into a sonic experience worthy of its legacy, including Riz Ahmed, Kat Dennings, Taron Egerton, Samantha Morton, Bebe Neuwirth, Andy Serkis, and more. Setting the stage for their performance is an unprecedented cinematic soundscape featuring an original musical score by British Academy Award winner James Hannigan. Fans will especially revel in a new twist for the audio adaptation: Neil Gaiman himself serves as the narrator. Follow him as he leads listeners along a winding path of myths, imagination and, often, terror. Even in your wildest dreams, you’ve never heard anything like this.

©2020 DC. All Rights Reserved. The Sandman and all related elements are trademarks of DC Comics. (P)2020 DC Comics and Audible

Available on Audible