Cover art for Freckled

Freckled

1 rating

Summary

For fans of The Glass Castle and Educated comes mystery author Toby Neal’s personal story of surviving a wild childhood in paradise. We never call it homeless. We're just "camping" in the jungle on Kauai.... We live in a place everyone calls paradise. Sure, Kauai’s beautiful, with empty beaches, drip-castle mountains, and perfect surf...but we’ve been "camping" for six months, eating boiled chicken feed for breakfast, and wearing camouflage clothes so no one sees us trespassing in our jungle hideout. The cockroaches leave rainbow colors all over everything from eating the crayons we left outside the tent, and now a tractor is coming to scrape our camp into the river. Standing in front of the tent in my nightgown, clinging to my sister as we face the tractor, I know my own truth: I just want to be normal. But Mom and Pop are addicted. Addicted to Kauai’s beauty, to drugs, to surfing, to living a life according to their own rules out from under their high-achieving parents’ judgmental eyes. I’m just their red-headed, mouthy, oldest kid. What I want doesn’t matter. But I’m smart. I will make a different life for myself someday if I keep up my grades no matter what happens. No matter how often we run out of food. No matter how many times I change schools...or don’t go to school at all. No matter how many bullies beat me up for the color of my skin.

©2018 Toby Neal 2018 (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

Length: 12 hrs and 6 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Tracy Chevalier

Tracy Chevalier

3 ratings

Summary

Tracy Chevalier is best-known as the author of Girl with a Pearl Earring but has also written many other brilliant novels. She visits the Audible Studios to talk about her latest, New Boy, part of the Hogarth Shakespeare series. It's a retelling of Othello, and Tracy speaks about what it was like to write for this series, what influenced her story, and more.

©2017 Audible Ltd (P)2017 Audible Ltd

Narrator: Tracy Chevalier
Length: 13 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for HiBrow: World Book Night 2012

HiBrow: World Book Night 2012

Summary

A celebration of adult literature and reading. The whole book industry, including booksellers, librarians and publishers, were invited come together and pick out their favourite titles to be included the final list of 25 books by authors from the UK and Ireland.  The final list included fiction, poetry and memoirs, among others. There were some best sellers, some classics and some lesser known.   Interviews with Rupert Everett, Kathy Lette, Colin Salmon, Akala, Edna O'Brien, Martina Cole, Monica Ali, Iain Banks, Jon Ronson, David Nicholls, Sarah Waters, DBC Pierre, Margaret Atwood, Tracy Chevalier, Jude Kelly, Owen Teale and Meg Rosoff.

©2012 One Media iP Ltd (P)2018 One Media iP Ltd

Available on Audible
Cover art for HiBrow: World Book Night 2013

HiBrow: World Book Night 2013

Summary

A celebration of adult literature and reading. The whole book industry, including booksellers, librarians and publishers, were invited come together and pick out their favourite titles to be included the final list of 25 books by authors from the UK and Ireland.  The final list included fiction, poetry and memoirs, among others. There were some best sellers, some classics and some lesser known.   Interviews with Graeme Simsion, Lucy Fleming, Jojo Moyes, Lemn Sissay, Mark Haddon, Tracy Chevalier, Victoria Hislop, Rupert Thomson and Andrew Motion.

©2013 One Media iP Ltd (P)2018 One Media iP Ltd

Available on Audible