Cover art for The Reddening

The Reddening

5 ratings

Summary

A gripping folk-horror thriller from the author of The Ritual One million years of evolution didn't change our nature. Nor did it bury the horrors predating civilization. Ancient rites, old deities, and savage ways can reappear in the places you least expect. Lifestyle journalist Katrine escaped past traumas by moving to a coast renowned for seaside holidays and natural beauty. But when a vast hoard of human remains and prehistoric artifacts is discovered in nearby Brickburgh, a hideous shadow engulfs her life. Helene, a disillusioned lone parent, lost her brother, Lincoln, six years ago. Disturbing subterranean noises he recorded prior to vanishing, draw her to Brickburgh's caves. A site where early humans butchered each other across 60,000 years. Upon the walls, images of their nameless gods remain. Amidst rumors of drug plantations and new sightings of the mythical red folk, it also appears that the inquisitive have been disappearing from this remote part of the world for years. A rural idyll where outsiders are unwelcome and where an infernal power is believed to linger beneath the earth. A timeless super-normal influence that only the desperate would dream of confronting. But to save themselves and those they love, and to thwart a crimson tide of pitiless barbarity, Kat and Helene are given no choice. They were involved and condemned before they knew it. The Reddening is an epic story of folk and prehistoric horrors written by Adam Nevill, the author of The Ritual, Last Days, No One Gets Out Alive, and the three times winner of the August Derleth Award for best horror novel.

©2019 Adam L. G. Nevil (P)2019 Journalstone

Length: 12 hrs and 19 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Bobby Girls' Secrets

The Bobby Girls' Secrets

Summary

In the midst of war, secrets are even harder to keep.... 1915. Best friends Irene, Maggie and Annie are proud members of the newly renamed Women's Police Service. While Britain's men are away fighting in France, the girls are doing their bit by keeping the peace at home in London's East End. But out of the blue, Irene is given the opportunity to be stationed near an army barracks in Grantham, Lincolnshire. Having recently experienced some heartbreak and keen for the adventure, she decides to go. What could possibly go wrong? It turns out, plenty. One of the other WPS girls takes an immediate dislike to her and makes her life a misery. On top of that, the man she thinks could be the answer to all her problems isn't all he seems. And when she finds a psychologically disturbed deserter in hiding, she has a very difficult decision to make.... Can Irene overcome all these obstacles without Maggie and Annie by her side and find true happiness at last?

©2020 Johanna Bell (P)2020 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

Narrator: Helen Keeley
Author: Johanna Bell
Length: 11 hrs and 14 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Bobby Girls

The Bobby Girls

Summary

1914. While their men fight in France, at home in Britain women are finally seizing the opportunity to make a difference.... Maggie and her new friends Annie, Irene and Sarah come from very different backgrounds, but they've got one thing in common: they've all signed up for the Women's Police Volunteers. They can't wait to show the men just what they're made of. But soon, Maggie realises she's in over her head. Hiding her involvement with the WPV from her tyrannous father is becoming ever more difficult, and when she bumps into an old acquaintance with a big chip on his shoulder, the dangers of her new life become all too clear.... As she and the girls work to find their feet on the beat, will their friendship get her through the darkest of times? A gritty, uplifting new saga series about the first ever female police officers, set at the outbreak of the First World War - perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife.

©2019 Johanna Bell (P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

Narrator: Helen Keeley
Author: Johanna Bell
Length: 10 hrs and 8 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Christmas with the Bobby Girls

Christmas with the Bobby Girls

Summary

The third book in an uplifting, lively saga series centered around women entering the world of policing for the first time, set at the outbreak of the First World War. In the midst of war, can they find a reason to celebrate? 1915. Patrolling is the last thing on the minds of Women's Police Service recruits Annie, Maggie and Poppy right now, because Annie and her fiancé Richard are about to get married. She's been waiting for this day her whole life, but when it finally comes it brings only heartache and Annie doesn't know if she can go on. The influx of soldiers to the capital means that the WPS's work is more important than ever, though, and Annie's country needs her. She and the girls are posted to the bustling heart of the city and she hopes the new job will distract her from her sorrow. It certainly does that. Soon the biggest bombing raid of the war causes chaos on their patch. On top of that, Annie suspects that a group of men are forcing European refugees into prostitution and resolves to stop them by Christmas. But by the time she realises just how high up the scandal goes, she might be in too deep to get out.... The Bobby Girls Series is perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife.

©2020 Johanna Bell (P)2020 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

Available on Audible