Cover art for Boudica: Dreaming the Eagle

Boudica: Dreaming the Eagle

10 ratings

Summary

Manda Scott's Boudica will tell the extraordinary, resounding story of Britain's first and greatest warrior queen, the woman who remains one of the great female icons. In AD 60, Boudica, war leader of the Eceni, led her people in a final bloody revolt against the occupying armies of Rome. It was the culmination of nearly 20 years of resistance against an occupying force that sought to crush a vibrant, complex civilisation and replace it with the laws, taxes and slavery of the Roman Empire. Gloriously imagined, Boudica: Dreaming the Eagle re-creates the beginnings of a story so powerful its impact has survived through the ages, recounting the coming of age of Breaca, who at 12 kills her first warrior. This is the unforgettable world of tribal Britain in the years before the Romans came: a twilight world of Dreamers and the magic of the gods; a world where warriors fight for honour as much as victory. It is a world of passion and courage and spectacular, heart-felt heroism pitched against overwhelming odds.

©2003 Manda Scott (P)2020 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

Available on Audible
Cover art for Boudica: Dreaming the Hound

Boudica: Dreaming the Hound

3 ratings

Summary

Manda Scott's Boudica will tell the extraordinary, resounding story of Britain's first and greatest warrior queen, the woman who remains one of the great female icons. AD 57: much of Britannia has been under Roman occupation for more than 10 years, and tribes pay costly tithes to the emperor in return for the right to continue living on their own lands. On the sacred isle of Mona, the Boudica, or ‘Bringer of Victory’ as Breaca has long been hailed, now knows for certain that her lover, Caradoc - betrayed, captured and kept hostage in Rome - will never return to her. She leaves Mona, where she and her warriors have been waging a guerrilla war, and takes the fight to the Eceni heartland where it is needed most. With her are her children, Cunomar and Grainne, and her best friend from childhood, ex-lover and dreamer Airmid. But the once proud Eceni are a downtrodden and defeated people who are forbidden on pain of death to worship their old gods. Across the sea in Hibernia, Breaca’s half-brother, Bán, is struggling to make peace with his fractured past. Soon, provoked by Roman aggression, he will sail to Britannia where he and Breaca will face down the might of Rome in the bloodiest revolt the Western world has ever known.

©2005 Manda Scott (P)2020 Bolinda Publishing

Author: Manda Scott
Length: 20 hrs and 2 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Boudica: Dreaming the Bull

Boudica: Dreaming the Bull

3 ratings

Summary

In AD 60, Boudica, war leader of the Eceni, led her people in a final bloody revolt against the occupying armies of Rome.... Dreaming the Bull continues the story of Breaca - now hailed Boudica, the Bringer of Victory, and her half brother, Bán, now an Officer in the Roman auxiliary cavalry. Each stands on the opposing side in a brutal war of attrition between the occupying army and the defeated tribes; each is determined to see the other dead. Caught between them are two children, son and daughter to two of the greatest warriors their world has ever seen, while in distant Rome, the Emperor Claudius holds the balance of lives in their hands.

©2003 Manda Scott (P)2020 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

Author: Manda Scott
Length: 16 hrs and 26 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Boudica: Dreaming the Serpent Spear

Boudica: Dreaming the Serpent Spear

2 ratings

Summary

Dreaming the Serpent Spear is the magnificent final story of the world’s most famous warrior queen in in Manda Scott’s best-selling Boudica series. Britannia, AD 60: the tribes of Britannia are ready to seek bloody vengeance. Twenty thousand warriors are poised to reclaim their land from their captors. Now is their chance: the Roman governor has marched his legions west, leaving his capital and a vital port undefended. There is no going back. But to crush her enemies for all time, the Boudica must do more than lead her army in the greatest rebellion Britain has ever known. She must find healing for herself, for the land - and for Graine, her eight-year-old daughter. Colchester is burning. London has been destroyed. Amidst fire and bloody revolution, the Boudica and those around her must fight to keep what matters most - now and for all time.

©2006 Manda Scott (P)2020 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

Author: Manda Scott
Length: 21 hrs and 37 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Emperor's Spy

The Emperor's Spy

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin. From the Sunday Times best-selling author Manda Scott, a high-octane, stirring and exciting historical adventure full of intrigue and action. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden. AD 64. Rome is burning. Only one man can save it. The emperor: Nero, emperor of Rome and feared by his subjects for his temper and cruelty, is in possession of an ancient document predicting that Rome will burn. The spy: Sebastos Pantera, assassin and spy for the Roman Legions, is ordered to stop the impending cataclysm. He knows that if he doesn't, his life - and that of thousands of others - is in terrible danger. The chariot boy: Math, a young charioteer, subject to the wiles and schemes of the emperor and the spy.  Who will win this game, where death stalks the drivers - on the track and off it?

©2010 Manda Scott (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Narrator: Philip Stevens
Author: Manda Scott
Length: 18 hrs and 44 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Eagle of the Twelfth

The Eagle of the Twelfth

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin. From the Sunday Times best-selling Author Manda Scott, a high-octane, stirring and exciting historical adventure full of intrigue and action. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden. They are known as the legion of the damned.... Throughout the Roman Army, the brutal XIIth Legion is notorious for its ill fortune. For one young man, Demalion of Macedon, joining it will be a baptism of fire. And yet, amid all of the violence and savagery of his life as a legionary, he will come to love the Twelfth and the bloody-minded, dark-hearted soldiers he calls his brothers. But during the punishing Judaean campaign, the Hebrew army inflict a catastrophic defeat upon the legion - not only decimating their ranks, but taking away their soul - the eagle. There is just one final chance to save the legion's honour - to steal it back. To do that, Demalion and his legionaries must go undercover into Jerusalem, into the very heart of their enemy.  Recovering their pride is paramount but discovery will mean the worst of deaths....

©2012 Manda Scott (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Narrator: Philip Stevens
Author: Manda Scott
Length: 13 hrs and 36 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Coming of the King

The Coming of the King

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.  From the Sunday Times best-selling author Manda Scott, a high-octane, stirring and exciting historical adventure full of intrigue and action. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden. To save Rome he must place his trust in another.  Sebastos Pantera, known to his many enemies as the Leopard and something of a lone wolf, is the spy the Emperor Nero uses only for the most challenging and important of missions. His next mission: to find the most dangerous man in Rome's empire and bring him to bloody justice. His prey is cunning, subtle and ruthless. Saulos has pledged to bring about the destruction of Rome and her provinces, and now fate, good luck and planning have given him the means to do so. The brilliance of Saulos' plan will be difficult to combat, but Pantera has a new ally: a king in the making who could change the future of his people - a man he can finally trust. If they work together, they could bring a province back from the edge of ruin.  But first, they must attempt the impossible: an assault on an invulnerable fortress, where failure means death to them both.

©2011 Manda Scott (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Narrator: Philip Stevens
Author: Manda Scott
Length: 14 hrs and 34 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Art of War

The Art of War

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.  From the Sunday Times best-selling author Manda Scott, a high-octane, stirring and exciting historical adventure full of intrigue and action. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden. Rome on a knife edge. A traitor in the midst.  AD 69. The year of the four emperors. Three emperors have ruled in Rome this year and a fourth, Vespasian, has been named in the East. As the legions march toward civil war, Sebastos Pantera, the spy whose name means leopard, returns to Rome intent on bribery, blackmail and persuasion: whatever it takes to bring the commanders and their men to Vespasian's side. But in Rome, as he uses every skill he has ever learned of subterfuge, codes and camouflage, it becomes clear that one of those closest to him is a traitor who will let Rome fall to destroy him. Together, the two spies spin a web of deceit with Rome as the prize and death the only escape.

©2013 Manda Scott (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Narrator: Philip Stevens
Author: Manda Scott
Length: 17 hrs and 1 min
Available on Audible
Cover art for Into the Fire

Into the Fire

Summary

There is a secret hidden within a body, burning within the flames, that will change history forever.  2014: in the French city of Orléans, a man’s charred corpse is found in a burned-out hotel, stripped of all ID. Police captain Inès Picaut must hunt down his killer before others fall prey to the fire. She has only one clue: the name of a woman who has been dead for over 500 years.  1429: Joan of Arc is taking the war to the English. They want her dead but the only way to reach her is through a fiercely loyal inner circle - until undercover spy Tomas Rustbeard finally earns her trust....  The myths of the past hold the key to the mystery of the present, but how many must die before the truth is laid bare? 

©2015 Manda Scott (P)2019 Bolinda Publishing

Author: Manda Scott
Length: 18 hrs and 51 mins
Available on Audible