Cover art for Bring Me Back

Bring Me Back

71 ratings

Summary

The new twisty, gripping audiobook from B. A. Paris, the author of the instant New York Times and USA Today best-selling titles Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown “We’re in a new Golden Age of suspense writing now, because of amazing books like Bring Me Back, and I for one am loving it.” (Lee Child) She went missing. He moved on. A whole world of secrets remained - until now.   Finn and Layla are young, in love, and on vacation. They’re driving along the highway when Finn decides to stop at a service station to use the restroom. He hops out of the car, locks the doors behind him, and goes inside. When he returns Layla is gone - never to be seen again. That is the story Finn told to the police. But it is not the whole story.  Ten years later Finn is engaged to Layla’s sister, Ellen. Their shared grief over what happened to Layla drew them close, and now they intend to remain together. Still, there’s something about Ellen that Finn has never fully understood. His heart wants to believe that she is the one for him...even though a sixth sense tells him not to trust her.  Then, not long before he and Ellen are to be married, Finn gets a phone call. Someone from his past has seen Layla - hiding in plain sight. There are other odd occurrences: long-lost items from Layla’s past that keep turning up around Finn and Ellen’s house. Emails from strangers who seem to know too much. Secret messages, clues, warnings. If Layla is alive - and on Finn’s trail - what does she want? And how much does she know?  A tour de force of psychological suspense, Bring Me Back will have listeners questioning everything and everyone until its stunning climax.

©2018 Bernadette MacDougall (P)2018 W F Howes Ltd.

Author: B. A. Paris
Length: 7 hrs and 38 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Apocalypse Kings

Apocalypse Kings

Summary

A brand new Skulduggery Pleasant novella for World Book Day: a hilarious and thrilling stand-alone story in the internationally best-selling series - perfect for new listeners and essential for Skulduggery fans....  Three ancient gods are freed from their prison with only one desire: to destroy the planet and everyone on it.  To save us all, Skulduggery Pleasant and Valkyrie Cain must go undercover in a Dublin school. Skulduggery has to blend in with the teaching staff, while Valkyrie has to pass for an ordinary schoolgirl. Above all else, no matter what happens, they both must act completely and utterly normal.  We are so dead.

©2021 Derek Landy (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Narrator: Kevin Hely
Author: Derek Landy
Length: 1 hr and 38 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Secret Child

Secret Child

2 ratings

Summary

The shocking true story of a young boy hidden away from his family and the world in a Catholic home for unmarried mothers in 1950s Dublin. Born an 'unfortunate' onto the rough streets of 1950s Dublin, this is the incredible true story of a young boy, a secret child born into a home for unmarried mothers in 1950s Dublin and a mother determined to keep her child, even if it meant hiding him from her own family and the rest of the world. Despite the poverty, hardship, and isolation, the pride and hope of a community of women who banded together to raise their children would give this boy his chance to find his real family. A wonderfully heartwarming and evocative tale of working class life in 1950s Dublin and 1960s London.

©2015 Gordon Lewis (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Narrator: Kevin Hely
Length: 7 hrs and 56 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Bedlam

Bedlam

2 ratings

Summary

The 12th explosive novel in the internationally bestselling Skulduggery Pleasant series, Bedlam will blow your mind - and change everything.... On a desperate journey to recover her sister's lost soul, Valkyrie Cain goes up against the High Sanctuary itself, and there's nothing Skulduggery Pleasant can do to stop her.  With Abyssinia's grand plan about to kick off in a night of magic, terror and bloodshed, it falls to Omen Darkly to save the lives of thousands of innocent people. And as the madness unfolds around him, as hidden enemies step into the light, and as Valkyrie is sucked into a desperate, lawless quest of her own, he has no choice but to become the hero he never really wanted to be - or die in the attempt. 

©2019 Derek Landy (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Narrator: Kevin Hely
Author: Derek Landy
Length: 17 hrs and 52 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Seasons of War

Seasons of War

3 ratings

Summary

The 13th thrilling novel in the internationally best-selling Skulduggery Pleasant series, Seasons of War will test the Skeleton Detective and Valkyrie like never before... War is coming. To avert catastrophe, Skulduggery and Valkyrie are sent on a secret mission that takes them away from everything they know, to a forsaken land of magic and grim, unrelenting terror. It is here that Valkyrie will have to fight the hardest - not only against the enemies who want her dead, but also against her own self-destructive impulses. It's only by crawling through darkness that she'll be able to once again stand in the light....

©2020 Derek Landy (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Narrator: Kevin Hely
Author: Derek Landy
Length: 15 hrs and 22 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Unravelling Oliver

Unravelling Oliver

18 ratings

Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent. Winner - IBA Crime Fiction Book of the Year. Liz Nugent's gripping audiobook of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith. Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children's books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma. In the aftermath, as everyone tries to make sense of his astonishing act of savagery, Oliver tells his story. So do those whose paths he has crossed over five decades. What unfolds is a story of shame, envy, breathtaking deception and masterful manipulation. Only Oliver knows the lengths to which he has had to go to get the life to which he felt entitled. But even he is in for a shock when the past catches up with him. Liz Nugent has worked in Irish film, theatre and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has written short stories for children and adults. Unravelling Oliver is her first novel.

©2017 Liz Nugent (P)2017 Penguin AudioBooks

Available on Audible
Cover art for Midnight

Midnight

3 ratings

Summary

Skulduggery Pleasant and Valkyrie Cain are back in their most gripping story yet, as book 11, Midnight, picks up where Resurrection left off - and runs. For years, Valkyrie Cain has struggled to keep her loved ones safe from harm, plunging into battle - time and time again - by Skulduggery Pleasant’s side, and always emerging triumphant. But now the very thing that Valkyrie fights for is in danger, as a ruthless killer snatches her little sister in order to lure Valkyrie into a final confrontation. With Skulduggery racing to catch up and young sorcerer Omen scrambling along behind, Valkyrie only has twelve hours to find Alice before it’s too late. The clock is ticking....

©2018 Derek Landy (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Narrator: Kevin Hely
Author: Derek Landy
Length: 12 hrs and 32 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for The Long Gaze Back

The Long Gaze Back

Summary

Spanning four centuries, The Long Gaze Back features 22 new stories by some of the most talented Irish women writers working today. Taken together, the collected works of these writers reveal an enrapturing, unnerving, and piercingly beautiful mosaic of a lively literary landscape. The anthology presents an inclusive and celebratory portrait of the high calibre of contemporary literature in Ireland.  These stories run the gamut from heartbreaking to humorous, but each leaves a lasting impression. They chart the passions, obligations, trials and tribulations of a variety of vividly drawn characters with unflinching honesty and relentless compassion. These are stories to savour.

©2015 Editor’s Introduction © Sinéad Gleeson, 2015, Individual stories © Respective authors (P)2018 W.F. Howes Ltd

Length: 11 hrs and 25 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for All She Ever Wished For

All She Ever Wished For

4 ratings

Summary

A gorgeous story of chance meetings and unexpected friendships...because sometimes what you've always wished for isn't necessarily what life has in store. Marriage. It's a dream come true. Isn't it? One wet winter night, two women meet on a bridge. One is Tess Taylor, a personal trainer on the way to meet her boyfriend for date night. The other is Kate King, a celebrity married to a handsome billionaire who just happens to make her cry. In the cold, dark evening, there is nothing to link them together but the bridge they shiver on. Little do they know they'll each hold the key to the other's future marriage.... All She Ever Wished For tells the story of what happens when your dream is about to come true. And what happens when that dream turns into a bit of a nightmare. Claudia Carroll brings you a Christmas gift filled with second chances, fateful encounters and a lesson in what true love means.

©2016 Claudia Carroll (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

Length: 12 hrs and 28 mins
Available on Audible