Cover art for A Vow So Bold and Deadly

A Vow So Bold and Deadly

15 ratings

Summary

Bloomsbury presents A Vow So Bold and Deadly by Brigid Kemmerer, read by Melissa Bayern, Kate Handford, Davis Brooks and Matt Reeves. Kingdoms will clash. Choose your side. The incredible conclusion to New York Times best-selling author Brigid Kemmerer's Cursebreaker series. Face your fears, fight the battle. Emberfall is crumbling fast, torn between those who believe Rhen is the rightful prince and those who are eager to begin a new era under Grey, the true heir. Grey has agreed to wait two months before attacking Emberfall, and in that time, Rhen has turned away from everyone - even Harper, as she desperately tries to help him find a path to peace.   Fight the battle, save the kingdom. Meanwhile, Lia Mara struggles to rule Syhl Shallow with a gentler hand than her mother. But after enjoying decades of peace once magic was driven out of their lands, some of her subjects are angry Lia Mara has an enchanted prince and a magical scraver by her side. As Grey’s deadline draws nearer, Lia Mara questions if she can be the queen her country needs. As the two kingdoms come closer to conflict, loyalties are tested, love is threatened, and an old enemy resurfaces who could destroy them all, in this stunning conclusion to best-selling author Brigid Kemmerer’s Cursebreaker series.

©2021 Brigid Kemmerer (P)2021 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Available on Audible
Cover art for All the Light We Cannot See

All the Light We Cannot See

539 ratings

Summary

Winner of the 2015 Audie Award for Fiction Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home. When she is 12, the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.  In a mining town in Germany, the orphan Werner grows up with his younger sister, enchanted by a crude radio they find. Werner becomes an expert at building and fixing these crucial new instruments, a talent that wins him a place at a brutal academy for Hitler Youth, then a special assignment to track the resistance. More and more aware of the human cost of his intelligence, Werner travels through the heart of the war and, finally, into Saint-Malo, where his story and Marie-Laure’s converge.

©2014 Anthony Doerr (P)2014 Simon & Schuster Audio

Available on Audible
Cover art for Believe Me

Believe Me

11 ratings

Summary

In this twisty psychological thriller from the New York Times best-selling author of The Girl Before, an actress plays both sides of a murder investigation. "A compelling read...redefines the concept of an unreliable narrator...[a] rich, nuanced, highly literary take on the Gone Girl theme." (Booklist) A struggling actor, a Brit in America without a green card, Claire needs work and money to survive. Then she gets both. But nothing like she expected. Claire agrees to become a decoy for a firm of divorce lawyers. Hired to entrap straying husbands, she must catch them on tape with their seductive propositions. The rules? Never hit on the mark directly. Make it clear you’re available, but he has to proposition you, not the other way around. The firm is after evidence, not coercion. The innocent have nothing to hide. Then the game changes. When the wife of one of Claire’s targets is violently murdered, the cops are sure the husband is to blame. Desperate to catch him before he kills again, they enlist Claire to lure him into a confession. Claire can do this. She’s brilliant at assuming a voice and an identity. For a woman who’s mastered the art of manipulation, how difficult could it be to tempt a killer into a trap? But who is the decoy...and who is the prey? Read by Sally Scott, with Matt Reeves, Lorelei King, John Chancer, and Eric Meyers.

©2018 J. P. Delaney (P)2018 Random House Audio

Length: 9 hrs and 31 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for A Curse So Dark and Lonely

A Curse So Dark and Lonely

105 ratings

Summary

Bloomsbury presents A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer, read by Kate Handford, Davis Brooks and Matt Reeves. A New York Times best seller! In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives listeners another romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. Fall in love, break the curse. It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his 18th year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope. Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world. Break the curse, save the kingdom. A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall...and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

©2020 Brigid Kemmerer (P)2020 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Length: 14 hrs and 51 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for A Heart so Fierce and Broken

A Heart so Fierce and Broken

48 ratings

Summary

Bloomsbury presents A Heart so Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer, read by Melissa Bayern, Matt Reeves, Kate Handford and Davis Brooks. In the sequel to New York Times best-selling A Curse so Dark and Lonely, Brigid Kemmerer returns to the world of Emberfall in a lush fantasy where friends become foes and love blooms in the darkest of places. Find the heir, win the crown. The curse is finally broken, but Prince Rhen of Emberfall faces darker troubles still. Rumors circulate that he is not the true heir and that forbidden magic has been unleashed in Emberfall. Although Rhen has Harper by his side, his guardsman Grey is missing, leaving more questions than answers.  Win the crown, save the kingdom.  Grey may be the heir, but he doesn't want anyone to know his secret. On the run since he destroyed Lilith, he has no desire to challenge Rhen - until Karis Luran once again threatens to take Emberfall by force. Her own daughter Lia Mara sees the flaws in her mother's violent plan, but can she convince Grey to stand against Rhen, even for the good of Emberfall? The heart-pounding, compulsively listenable saga continues as loyalties are tested and new love blooms in a kingdom on the brink of war.

©2020 Brigid Kemmerer (P)2019 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Available on Audible
Cover art for After the End

After the End

15 ratings

Summary

From New York Times best-selling author Clare Mackintosh comes a deeply moving and addictive novel about an impossible choice - and the two paths fate could take. “A beautifully written novel, compelling and clever, tender and true. I can’t stop thinking about it.” (Liane Moriarty, best-selling author of Big Little Lies)  “Tailor-made for book clubs and for fans of Jodi Picoult.” (Publishers Weekly)  Max and Pip are the strongest couple you know. They're best friends, lovers - unshakable. But then their son gets sick and the doctors put the question of his survival into their hands. For the first time, Max and Pip can't agree. They each want a different future for their son.  What if they could have both?  A gripping and propulsive exploration of love, marriage, parenthood, and the road not taken, After the End brings one unforgettable family from unimaginable loss to a surprising, satisfying, and redemptive ending and the life they are fated to find. With the emotional power of Jodi Picoult's My Sister's Keeper, Mackintosh helps us to see that sometimes the end is just another beginning. 

©2019 Clare Mackintosh (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Length: 11 hrs and 34 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Sanctuary

Sanctuary

Summary

When young Daniel Whitman is killed at a high-school party, the community is ripped apart. The death of Sanctuary's star quarterback seems to be a tragic accident, but everyone knows his ex-girlfriend Harper Fenn is the daughter of a witch - and she was there when he died. Was Daniel's death an accident, revenge, or something more sinister? As accusations fly, paranoia grips the town, culminating in a witch-hunt...and the town becomes no sanctuary at all.  In this dark mystery, V. V. James weaves a spellbinding tale of a town cracking into pieces and the devastating power of a mother's love.

©2020 V.V. James (P)2020 Dreamscape Media, LLC

Author: V.V. James
Length: 12 hrs and 17 mins
Available on Audible