Cover art for The Power of Ambition

The Power of Ambition

75 ratings

Summary

Ambition can be a powerful force for good in our lives. But only if it is legitimate. Sometimes misinterpreted and often misunderstood, ambition - true ambition - is not a selfish quality. It is not another word for ruthless; it is not something to be shunned or subdued. Legitimate ambition is an honorable trait. At its very best, our ambition serves us and other people. In fact, pursuing your ambition is one of the most selfless things you can do. In The Power of Ambition: Unleashing the Conquering Drive Within You, renowned speaker and author Jim Rohn reevaluates the role of ambition in all aspects of our lives, exploring the facts, debunking the fiction and revealing the six life-changing steps anyone can take to build their legitimate ambition. Let Jim Rohn be your guide as you learn how to use your ambition not only to change what is going on around you, but what is going on within you. Along the way, you will also learn: How to develop the three cornerstones of an ambitious life. Why enlightened self-interest leads to wealth and why self-preservation leads only to poverty. Why life reserves its treasures for those who deserve them, not for those who need them. The seven components of resilience and how they can work for you. How creativity and courage can keep you actively working toward your goals. The secrets of successful networking and other ways to make your relationships work for you. The five aspects of patience in action, otherwise known as persistence. True ambition is a disciplined, eager desire for achievement. It is a state of mind, a way of life. With The Power of Ambition you can take charge of your own personal happiness, chart your own course through life and let your legitimate ambition create whatever you desire, take you wherever you want to go.

©1994 Jim Rohn (P)1994 Nightingale Conant

Available on Audible
Cover art for Beneath a Starless Sky

Beneath a Starless Sky

Summary

Munich 1930: smoke filled the air.  Lilli Sternberg’s quickening heart sounded an alarm as she rounded the street corner. Lifting her gaze to the rooftops, a roaring blaze of thick flames engulfed the side of the building and joined the stars to fill the black sky. Her father’s shop was no more.  Lilli Sternberg longs to be a ballet dancer. But outside the sanctuary of the theatre, her beloved city is in chaos, and Munich is no longer a place for dreams. The Nazi party are gaining power, and the threats to those who deviate from the party line are increasing. Jewish families are being targeted and their businesses raided; even her father’s shop was torched because of their faith. When Lilli meets Captain Marco Zeiller during a chance encounter, her heart soars. He is the perfect gentleman, and her love for him feels like a bright hope under a bleak sky. But battle lines are being drawn, and Marco has been spotted by the Reich as an officer with potential. A relationship with Lilli would compromise them both. Will Lilli escape the threats facing her family, and how much is she willing to risk for the man she loves?  An absolutely gripping and emotional historical fiction novel about love, courage and betrayal for fans of My Name Is Eva and A Woman of War.

©2021 Tessa Harris (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Length: 12 hrs and 55 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Master of the Game

Master of the Game

11 ratings

Summary

Kate Blackwell is the symbol of success, the beautiful woman who parlayed her inheritance into an international conglomerate. Winner of a unique position among the wealthy and world-renowned, she is also a survivor as indomitable as her father, who returned from the edge of death to wrench a fortune in diamonds from the hard South African soil. Kate surveys the family she has manipulated, dominated and loved; the fair and the grotesque, the mad and the mild, the good and the evil - her winnings in life. Is she the master of the game? Sidney Sheldon was a masterful storyteller, who during his lifetime penned over 200 television scripts, 25 major motion pictures, six Broadway plays, and 17 novels, including The Naked Face, The Other Side of Midnight, The Sands of Time, Memories of Midnight, and The Stars Shine Down, together selling over 300 million copies, making him one of the world's most prolific authors.

©1982 Sheldon Literary Trust (P)2009, 2016 Phoenix Books

Length: 13 hrs and 17 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for A Stranger in the Mirror

A Stranger in the Mirror

1 rating

Summary

Toby Temple is a superstar, the world's funniest man. He gets any woman that he wants, but under the superstar image is a lonely man. Jill Castle is a sensuous starlet. She has a dark and mysterious past and has an ambition even greater than Toby's. Together they rule Hollywood.

©1976 Sheldon Literary Trust (P)2016 Phoenix Books

Length: 7 hrs and 19 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Deadly Housewives

Deadly Housewives

Summary

Wisteria Lane has nothing on these grandes dames of mystery. In the expert hands of two of the mystery world's top storytellers, being a housewife takes on a whole new meaning. These two never-before-published stories by Nevada Barr and Sara Paretsky explore the dark side of the housewife psyche and are guaranteed to delight. Caution: These stories are meant to be listened to alone while sipping a glass of wine. Do not operate a motor vehicle or handle any kind of weapon for one hour after reading. Guaranteed to raise your blood pressure and your craving for revenge. No batteries required.

©2005 Phoenix Books, Inc. (P)2005 Phoenix Books, Inc.

Available on Audible
Cover art for Train Wreck

Train Wreck

Summary

This is the definitive story of the rise and tragic fall of a woman who became one of the world's most recognized celebrities, thanks to her voluptuous beauty - and her devotion to sex, drugs, money, and fame. Donna Hogan, Anna Nicole Smith's sister and a confidante to her and other family members, provides an intimate and mesmerizing account of how Anna escaped poverty, anonymity, and an abusive family as she rocketed to fame. All too soon, Anna crashed to earth at the age of 39, weighed down by drugs, alcohol, lawsuits, scandal, and the unexpected death of her 20-year-old son, Daniel. Born Vickie Lynn Hogan, she left school in 10th grade, had a son by age 18, became a stripper at 20, and married a billionaire at 26. She transformed herself through plastic surgery and sheer determination into Anna Nicole Smith, Playboy's Playmate of the Year in 1993, and a spokesperson for Guess Jeans and TrimSpa. She later starred in her own reality TV series, The Anna Nicole Show, on E!. She told everyone who would listen that she would be the next Marilyn Monroe. And she pursued that dream right to its tragic end.

©2007 Phoenix Audio (P)2007 Phoenix Audio

Author: Donna Hogan
Length: 6 hrs and 39 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for We, the Jury

We, the Jury

1 rating

Summary

We, the Jury is the dramatic story of the seven jurors who convicted Scott Peterson of murdering his wife, Laci, and their unborn son, Conner, despite a series of internal battles that brought the first major murder trial of the 21st century to the brink of a mistrial. The Peterson jurors argued and disagreed but eventually bonded to seal the fate of the icy killer who dumped his victims into the bullet-gray waters of San Francisco Bay. The seven jurors of We, the Jury were seven average Americans who never imagined the horrors they would face or the phantoms that would haunt them after they convicted the enigmatic murderer and recommended that he be put to death. This is the story of how the American jury system worked after being battered by critics for the way it functioned in the trials of O.J. Simpson and Michael Jackson. Unlike the jurors in those trials, who second guessed themselves, the Peterson jurors do not question their decisions. It wasn't one thing that condemned Scott Peterson; it was everything.

©2005 Phoenix Audio (P)2005 Phoenix Audio

Author: various
Length: 6 hrs and 44 mins
Available on Audible