Cover art for The Authorities

The Authorities

17 ratings

Summary

Sinclair Rutherford is a young Seattle cop with a taste for the finer things. Doing menial tasks and getting hassled by superiors he doesn't respect are definitely not "finer things". Good police work and bad luck lead him to crack a case that changes quickly from a career-making break into a high-profile humiliation when footage of his pursuit of the suspect - wildly inappropriate murder weapon in hand - becomes an Internet sensation. But the very publicity that has made Rutherford a laughing stock in the department lands him what could be the job opportunity of a lifetime: the chance to work with a team of eccentric experts, at the direction of a demanding but distracted billionaire. Together, they must solve the murder of a psychologist who specialized in the treatment of patients who give people "the creeps". There is no shortage of suspects.

©2015 Scott Meyer (P)2015 Scott Meyer

Length: 9 hrs and 49 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for This Is How I Save My Life

This Is How I Save My Life

4 ratings

Summary

Sometimes, you only find everything when you are willing to try anything.... From "a brave warrior and a wonderful writer" (Elizabeth Gilbert, number one New York Times best-selling author of Eat Pray Love), the true story of a fiery young woman's heartwarming and hilarious journey that takes her from near death in California to a trip around the world in search of a cure. Along the way, she discovers a world of cultural mayhem, radical medical treatment, an unexpected romance, and, most importantly, a piece of her life she never even knew she was missing. When everyone gave up on her... When Amy B. Scher was struck with undiagnosed late-stage, chronic Lyme disease, the best physicians in America labeled her condition incurable and potentially terminal. Deteriorating rapidly, she went on a search to save her own life - from the top experts in Los Angeles and the world-renowned Mayo Clinic in Minneapolis to a state-of-the-art hospital in Chicago. She risked her own life to find it. After exhausting all of her options in the US, she discovered a possible cure - but it was highly experimental, available only in India, and had as much of a probability of killing her as it did of curing her. Knowing the risks and armed with her self-created motto "when life kicks your ass, kick back", Amy packed her bags, convinced her parents, and flew across the world anyway. But this is not just another book about illness. Vikas Swarup, New York Times best-selling author of Slumdog Millionaire calls this book "a heartwarming and inspiring story that will change the way you look at life." "In her stunning new memoir, the refrain 'we are the healing we've been waiting for' rings throughout...a beautiful testament to resilience that veers from the comical to the tragic." (LA Review of Books) It's for anyone who believes in - or doubts - the existence of miracles when it seems like all hope is lost.  You'll discover who you really are (and why it matters). Do you ever wonder what it takes to save your own life? Or even just your sanity when times are hard? This Is How I Save My Life will help you discover who you really are. While Amy's story began as the search for a physical cure from Lyme disease, it turned out to be so much more. It turned out to be about life - how we get through when it seems impossible and even find some humor in it all.  And you'll learn very important things, too, like: How chocolate cake might help you keep the faith Why telling yourself the truth is more important than anything else And the best way to outrun a group of schoolboys in India if you're ever mistaken for the pop singer Shakira!

©2018 Amy B. Scher (P)2018 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

Length: 6 hrs and 43 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Queen of Coin and Whispers

Queen of Coin and Whispers

1 rating

Summary

When Lia, an idealistic queen, falls for Xania, her new spymaster - who took the job to avenge her murdered father - they realise all isn't fair in love and treason. 'She loved me as I loved her, fierce as a bloodied blade.' When teenage Queen Lia inherits her corrupt uncle’s bankrupt kingdom, she brings a new spymaster into the fold...Xania, who takes the job to avenge her murdered father. Faced with dangerous plots and hidden enemies, can Lia and Xania learn to rely on each another, as they discover that all is not fair in love and treason? The throne means both power and duty, so they must decide what to sacrifice for their country - and for each other....

©2020 Helen Corcoran (P)2020 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

Available on Audible
Cover art for Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre

1 rating

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.   This Penguin Classic is performed by Anna Popplewell, best known for her leading role as Susan Pevensie in The Chronicles of Narnia films. This definitive recording includes an introduction by Stevie Davies.   Orphaned, Jane Eyre, grows up in the home of her heartless aunt, where she endures loneliness and cruelty, and at a charity school with a harsh regime. This troubled childhood strengthens Jane's natural independence and spirit - which prove necessary when she finds a position as governess at Thornfield Hall. But when she finds love with her sardonic employer, Rochester, the discovery of his terrible secret forces her to make a choice. Should she stay with him and live with the consequences, or follow her convictions, even if it means leaving the man she loves?  A novel of intense power and intrigue, Jane Eyre (1847), dazzled and shocked readers with its passionate depiction of a woman's search for equality and freedom.

Public Domain (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Narrator: Anna Popplewell
Length: 22 hrs and 51 mins
Available on Audible
Cover art for Dear Mrs. Bird

Dear Mrs. Bird

55 ratings

Summary

"A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful." (Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina) An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist - a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls. London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed but gamely bucks up and buckles down. Mrs. Bird is very clear: Letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles. Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.

©2018 AJ Pearce (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

Narrator: Anna Popplewell
Author: AJ Pearce
Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
Available on Audible